A birthing center is an alternative means for a pregnant woman to deliver in a setting other than at home or in a hospital. A majority of the licensed birthing centers are operated by midwives and are concentrated on the Texas-Mexico border.
The Texas Birthing Center Licensing Act was first enacted in 1985 by the 69th Legislature. The staff of the Facility Licensing Group is responsible for licensing birthing centers. Birthing Centers are not Medicare certified.
The Facility Licensing Group also develops rules that establish minimum standards for birthing center licensing procedures, for inspections; for the conditions of a license; for denying, suspending, and revoking a license; for operational standards; for clinical standards; for license fees; and for access to records.
The licensing program shares information with the Midwifery I.D. Program of the Professional Licensing and Certification Division and with the Bureau of Vital Statistics for filing of birth certificates.
To become licensed, please see the How to Become a Licensed Birthing Center and License Application.
Licensed Midwives Eligible to Enroll in Texas Medicaid Effective January 1, 2013
Beginning January 1, 2013, licensed midwife (LM) providers can enroll in Texas Medicaid. The online Provider Enrollment on the Portal (PEP) and the paper Texas Medicaid Provider Enrollment Application have been updated to allow for the enrollment of LMs.
Updated applications will be available on this website beginning December 17, 2012: http://www.tmhp.com/Pages/ProviderEnrollment/PE_TX_Medicaid_New.aspx.
The updated paper Texas Medicaid Provider Enrollment Application will be version XXII. A checkbox for the LM provider type and the Physician’s Letter of Agreement form, which will be required for LMs and certified nurse midwives, will also be added to this version of the paper application. For more information or for assistance with completing the application, call the TMHP Contact Center at 1-800-925-9126.
Initial. . . . . . . . . . . . .. .. . $2,000
Change of Ownership. . . . $2,000
A survey for birthing services rendered will be conducted within 90 days after the issuance of an initial license. Entrance conference with key facility personnel and department zone office staff. During the survey, zone office staff will explain the survey process and answer questions.
- Review clinical records
- Review facility policies and procedures
- Review quality assurance activities
- Review personnel records
- Interview staff
- Conduct site visits as applicable
- Exit conference with key facility personnel. Discuss survey findings.
The audit tool is provided for use by your facility in preparation for a state licensure survey. We suggest you conduct an audit of your facility’s compliance to licensure standards prior to the scheduled or unannounced survey.
- Birthing Center State Audit Tool. Word File 234KB, 22 pgs.
Back to the Top - Health Facility Program Home -- Site Map -- Links - Contact Us
Texas Department of State Health Services, Health Facillity Licensing Program
1100 West 49th Street - Austin, Texas 78756 - (512) 834-6646