• Loading...

    The Asbestos Program is within the Division for Regulatory Services
    P. O. Box 149347
    Austin, TX 78714-9347
    (512) 834-6770.




    External links to other sites are intended to be informational and do not have the endorsement of the Texas Department of State Health Services. These sites may not be accessible to people with disabilities.


Renewal Procedures for Asbestos Licensing Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) - Asbestos Program

Loading...


texasgovbox   Texas.gov

  1. Who is eligible to renew online?
  2. Is there any additional charge that applies to renewing online?
  3. How long will my renewal period be?
  4. What if I choose not to renew my license online?
  5. How does the online renewal process work?
  6. Can I make changes to my address (residential, mailing or employer) as part of the online renewal?
  7. Can I print a copy of my entire license renewal information?
  8. What are the online available payment options?
  9. What information do I need to make a payment online?
  10. Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?
  11. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license/registration?
  12. If I renew online, will I get my license faster than if I renew by mail or in person?
  13. If I have multiple licenses with the same agency, do I need to re-logon to the site?
  14. Can I renew online any time?
  15. Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?
  16. How do I contact the agency?
  17. What browser versions does the application support?

1. Who is eligible to renew online?

Any license holder whose status is within 60 days of expiration or up to one year after expiration is eligible to renew online. The Department sends out renewal notices to each licensee approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license.


2. Is there any additional charge that applies to renewing online?

Yes, The Texas Department of State Health Services (formerly Texas Department of Health) has been authorized by the Texas Legislature and the Texas Online Authority to charge an additional fee (subscription fee) to recover costs associated with development and maintenance of the Texas Online services. The subscription fee will be added to your license renewal fee. The subscription fee applies to all license holders, whether or not you choose to renew your license online. Asbestos License Fees

Top of Page

3. How long will my renewal period be?

Prior to January 1, 2005, the term of all licenses, including the registration of asbestos workers, is one year and expires on the anniversary of the effective date, unless renewed. The term of license renewals with expiration dates during odd numbered months of 2005 is one year. The term of license renewals with expiration dates during even numbered months of 2005 is two years. The term of all new licenses with issue dates of January 1, 2005, or after, is two years. A license holder is in violation of these sections if the holder allows qualifications for that license (such as accreditations, physical or insurance requirements) to expire and practices with that license.


4. What if I choose not to renew my license online?

You may still renew your license by submitting a complete application with the license renewal fee and all required documentation to the Texas Department of State Health Services (formerly Texas Department of Health), Asbestos Licensing, PO Box 141097-1097 Austin Texas. The subscription fee applies to all licenses, whether you choose to renew online or not.


5. How does the online renewal process work?

The online renewal process is a simple process. The first step is to log in by entering your license number (no dash) and the control number (found on the bottom right corner of license). This step allows the Texas Online application to verify eligibility. If you are eligible to renew, you will be given an option to renew at that time. A change of address can also be completed in conjunction with the renewal. The next steps are to answer required questions, review information entered, and then proceed to the payment page. After providing payment information, the final step is to view and print the transaction receipt. Requirements for the renewed license must then be mailed to the Asbestos Licensing Section.

Top of Page

6. Can I make changes to my address (residential, mailing or employer) as part of the online renewal?

Yes, you can make changes to your address residential, mailing or employer. Remember that the license will be mailed to the applicant's mailing address.


7. Can I print a copy of my entire license renewal information?

You can print the payment receipt after completing the online process. There is a printer friendly version of the renewal information available. You can also print each page as you go through the online application using your web browser print key.


8. What are the online available payment options?

Payments can be made using major credit cards (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX) or ACH electronic check payment methods.

Top of Page


9. What information do I need to make a payment online?

You will need the license number and control number (bottom right corner of license) to log on. To make a payment online you need a valid credit card number, billing name, billing address, and expiration date. For electronic check payments, a valid bank routing number and Savings/Checking account number are required.


10. Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?

Yes, you can print the printer friendly version of payment receipt after completing the online process.

Top of Page

11. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license/registration?

No, the license will not be issued until all renewal requirements are met. The printed payment receipt only verifies payment of your renewal. If a license holder makes a timely and sufficient application for renewal of a license, the current license in his/her possession does not expire until the application has been finally granted or denied by the department. A license holder is in violation of these sections if the holder allows qualifications for that license (such as accreditations, physical or insurance requirements) to expire and practices with that license.


12. If I renew online, will I get my license faster than if I renew by mail or in person?

The agency is currently processing all renewals within 7 days from the time all renewal requirements are met and payment is processed.

13. If I have multiple licenses with the same agency, do I need to re-logon to the site?

Yes, you must log in with license number and control number for each license type.

Top of Page

14. Can I renew online any time?

Yes, the system is available 7 days per week, 24 hours per day, except for routine maintenance down time.

15. Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?

Online Support is available through the Texas.gov Helpdesk at 1-877-452-9060, by email at support@texasgovhelpdesk.com , or through a live chat session via the Texas.gov Web site.

16. How do I contact the agency?

Program contacts and program web page link:

Asbestos Licensing: (512) 834-6770 or (800) 572-5548 (for Texas only).
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/asbestos

17. What browser versions does the application support?

The application will support IE version 4.0 and above and Netscape version 4.0 and above.

Top of Page

 

 

  • Loading...
Last updated October 23, 2013