Face-to-Face Continuing Education For CHWs


Face-to-Face or In-Person DSHS-Certified Continuing Education for Community Health Workers (CHWs) by area of the state/city

To find face-to-face DSHS-certified continuing education courses for CHWs by location in Texas, click on the Texas area of interest below: 

North Texas (Lubbock, Amarillo)

North Central Texas (Abilene, Dallas, Fort Worth)

Central Texas (Austin, Buda, College Station, Round Rock)

South Texas (Brownsville, Edinburg, Laredo, McAllen, San Antonio, San Benito, Victoria, Weslaco)

West Texas (El Paso, Midland, San Elizario)

East Texas (Houston, La Marque, Nacogdoches, Tyler)

To inquire about future face-to-face CHW 160-Hour Certification courses, call or e-mail training program contacts!


Training Locations

North Texas

Lubbock       Community Health Center of Lubbock

Contact: Claudia Bustos at 806/765-2611 Ext. 1023 or email cbustos@chcl.tachc.org

Lubbock       DSHS Health Service Region 1

Contact: Tricia Vowels at 806/783-6482 or tricia.vowels@dshs.state.tx.us

Lubbock       Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing

Contact: Monica Garcia at 806/743-3414 or monica.r.garcia@ttuhsc.edu  

Lubbock/Amarillo    West Texas Area Health Education Center Program

Contact: Chris Felton at 806/743-1338 or c.felton@ttuhsc.edu


North Central Texas

Abilene                    West Texas Area Health Education Center Program

Contact: Chris Felton at 806/743-1338 or c.felton@ttuhsc.edu

Dallas                        American Diabetes Association – North Texas Office

Contact: Sherry Hill at 972/392-1181 or shill@diabetes.org

Dallas                        Children’s Medical Center

Contact:  Jesus Alderete at 214/456-7937 or Jesus.Alderete@childrens.com

Dallas                       Diabetes Health and Wellness Institute - an affiliate of Baylor Healthcare System

Contact: Ginny Ives at 214/915-3204  or Ginny.Ives@baylorhealth.edu

Dallas                        El Centro College

Contact: Kim White at 214/860-2236 or kwhite@dcccd.edu

Dallas                        University of Texas School of Public Health Dallas Regional Campus

Contact: Rosalia Guerrero-Luera at 713/500-9395 or Rosalia.Guerrero@uth.tmc.edu

Dallas/Fort Worth      Texas AHEC East DFW Region

Contact: Lori Millner - 241/648-8338 or lori.millner@txaheceast.org

Dallas/Fort Worth  University of North Texas Health Science Center – Texas Public Health Training Center

Contact: Yara William, yara.william@live.unthsc.edu

Central Texas

Austin               Cardea Services

Contact: Sandy Rice at 512/774-2166 or srice@cardeaservices.org

Austin/other areas on request  DSHS  Mental Health Substance Abuse Division (MHSA)

Contact: Sue Gallego at 512/776-3481 or susan.gallego@dshs.state.tx.us

Austin               El Buen Samaritano Episcopal Mission

Contact: Juan Rosa at  512/439-0728 or jrosa@elbuen.org 

Austin               Migrant Clinicians Network

Contact: Theressa Lyons  at 512/579-4511 or tlyons@migrantclinicians.org

Austin                PromoSalud

Contact: Jill Ramírez at 512/484-1507 or jill@lationhealthcareforum.org

Buda                   National Center for Farmworkers Health, Inc.

Contact: Alicia Gonzales  at 512/312-2700 or gonzales@ncfh.org

College Station Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health – Office of Special Programs

Contact: Patricia Calzada at 979/436-9478 or calzada@srph.tamhsc.edu

Round Rock         Texas AHEC East Capital Region

Contact: Jehona Tafilaj - 512/223-0229 or jehona.tafilaj@txaheceast.org


South Texas

Brownsville              University of Texas School of Public Health Dallas Regional Campus

Contact: Rosalia Guerrero-Luera at 713/500-9395 or Rosalia.Guerrero@uth.tmc.edu

Corpus Christi        South Coastal Area Health Education Center

Contact: Belinda Flores at 361/881-8133 floresb3@uthscsa.edu

Laredo                      Gateway Community Health Center

Contact: Otila Garcia – 956/523-3626 or otilag.gateway@tachc.org

Laredo/San Antonio/Weslaco             Texas A&M Colonias Program Academy


Laredo:  Joe Gutierrez at 956/728-0210 or jgutierrez@arch.tamu.edu
Toll free: 888/728-6221

San Antonio: 979/862-2374

     Toll Free: 800/633-2374

Weslaco: Laura Trevino at 956/447-9355 or ltrevino@arch.tamu.edu

              Toll Free: 877/447-9355

McAllen/Edinburg       South Texas Promotora Association, Inc.

Contact: Merida Escobar at 956/383-5393 or Stpa08@outlook.com

San Benito/other areas on request

The National Community Health Worker Training Center within the Center for Community Health Development, Texas A&M School of Rural Public Health

Contact: Katharine Nimmons at knimmons@srph.tamhsc.edu 979/845-6462 or Julie St. John at jastjohn@srph.tamhsc.edu, or 325/513-4943

San Antonio                  Northwest Vista Community College

Contact: Dr. Fernando Martinez at 210/486-4382 or fmartinez1@alamo.edu

Victoria   Texas AHEC East Victoria Region

Contact: Paula Crawford  at 361/485-6811 or paula.crawford@victoriacollege.edu

Weslaco                      MHP (Promoviendo Vidas Saludables, Inc.)

Contact:  Genoveva Martinez at 956/968-3600 or  gmartinez@migranthealth.org

Weslaco                       Presa Community Center

Contact: Tina Gutierrez, 210/532-5295 Ext 224 or e-mail tgutierrez@presa.org

West Texas

El Paso         Texas A&M Colonias Program Academy

Contact: Pema Garcia at 915/860-9528 or pgarcia@arch.tamu.edu

Midland/San Angelo             West Texas Area Health Education Center Program

Contact: Chris Felton at 806/743-1338 or c.felton@ttusc.edu

San Elizario                     Familias Triunfadoras, Inc.

Contact: Maria Covernali at 915/851-1141

East Texas

 Houston and other cities     Día de la Mujer Latina

Contact: 281/489-1111 or diadelamujerlatina@gmail.com

Houston           Gateway to Care

Contact:  Angel Rivera-Gonzalez at 281/400-3650  or arivera@gatewaytocare.org

DSHS-Certified Continuing Education for Community Health Workers - 2015

  • click HERE to view the listing of the 2015 DSHS-certified continuing education workshop series
  • offered in English and some in Spanish
  • free, but require prior registration on: https://sites.google.com/a/gatewaytocare.org/community-health-worker-training-institute/continuing-education
  • space is limited
  • begun promptly; students must be on time and stay the entire class to receive full credit
  • two days students must attend both days to receive full credit.
  • held at the Upper Kirby Office Building, 3015 Richmond Ave. Houston, TX 77098; phone number: 281/400-3650

Houston            Harris Health System

Continuing Education Workshop Series – 2015

Dates: Offered 2 times/month from January to October (once in English, once in Spanish) - see flyer or website below for specific class details and dates.

Times: 9:00am-12:00pm (English) or 1:00pm - 4:00 pm (Spanish) 

Format/Location: In-person; United Way - 50 Waugh, Houston, TX 77007  

Cost: CE classes are free, but require registration

DSHS-Certified Hours: 3 DSHS-certified hours per offering; see flyer or website below for specific

Registration and Contact Information: 713-634-1242 or chw@harrishealth.org Sign up here to receive monthly emails with registration links as class registration becomes available. Registration opens one month before each class.

Website: https://www.harrishealth.org/en/our-community/pages/health-worker.aspx

Downloadable Flyer: Harris Health 2015 CEU Calendar: Click HERE to view the  CHW CEU Calendar

Houston               Houston Community College

Contact: Nicole Phinazee at nicole.phinazee@hccs.edu or at 713/718-8953

Houston               Texas AHEC East Greater Houston Area

Contact: Karen Henson-Jones- 713/592-6411or kjones@ghahec.org

Houston                University of Texas School of Public Health – Houston Regional Campus

Contact: Rosalia Guerrero-Luera at 713/500-9395 or Rosalia.Guerrero@uth.tmc.edu

La Marque             Texas AHEC East Coastal Region

Contact: Isaac Mancillas- 409/933-0021 isaac.mancillas@txaheceast.org

Nacogdoches         Texas AHEC East – Pineywoods Region

Contact: Mark Scott at 936/468-6916 or mark.scott@txaheceast.org

Tyler                        Texas AHEC East Northeast Region (Lake County AHEC)

Contact: Marshall Kratz at 903/877-5788 or marshall.kratz@uthct.edu



Last updated June 18, 2015