Face-to-Face CHW Certification

Loading...

Face-to-Face or In-Person 160-Hour Community Health Worker (CHW) Certification courses by area of the state/city

To find face-to-face CHW 160-Hour Certification courses provided by DSHS-certified training programs, click on the Texas area of interest below:

North Texas (Amarillo, Lubbock)

North Central Texas (Abilene, Dallas, Fort Worth)

Central Texas (Austin, Round Rock)

South Texas (Brownsville, Edinburg, Laredo, McAllen, San Antonio, San Benito, Victoria, Weslaco)

West Texas (El Paso, Midland, San Elizario)

East Texas (Houston, La Marque, Nacogdoches, Tyler)

To inquire about future face-to-face CHW 160-Hour Certification courses, call or e-mail training program contacts!

Face-to-Face CHW Certification 

North Texas

Lubbock       Community Health Center of Lubbock

Contact: Claudia Bustos at 806/765-2611 Ext. 1023 or email cbustos@chcl.tachc.org

Lubbock       Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing

Contact: Monica Garcia at 806/743-3414 or monica.r.garcia@ttuhsc.edu  

Lubbock/Amarillo    West Texas Area Health Education Center Program

Contact: Chris Felton at 806/743-1338 or c.felton@ttuhsc.edu

North Central Texas

Abilene                    West Texas Area Health Education Center Program

Contact: Chris Felton at 806/743-1338 or c.felton@ttuhsc.edu

Dallas                        American Diabetes Association – North Texas Office

Contact: Sherry Hill at 972/392-1181 or shill@diabetes.org

Dallas                       Diabetes Health and Wellness Institute - an affiliate of Baylor Healthcare System

Contact: Ginny Ives at 214/915-3204  or Ginny.Ives@baylorhealth.edu

Dallas                        El Centro College

Contact: Kim White at 214/860-2236 or kwhite@dcccd.edu
 

Dallas                        University of Texas School of Public Health Dallas Regional Campus

Contact: Rosalia Guerrero-Luera at 713/500-9395 or Rosalia.Guerrero@uth.tmc.edu
 

Dallas/Fort Worth      Texas AHEC East DFW Region

Contact: Lori Millner - 241/648-8338 or lori.millner@txaheceast.org for more information.

Dallas/Fort Worth  University of North Texas Health Science Center – Texas Public Health Training Center

Contact: Maudia Gentry - 817/417-9090 or maudia.gentry@unthsc.edu or yara.william@live.unthsc.edu for more information.

 

Central Texas

Austin                      Cardea Services

Contact: Sandy Rice at 512/774-2166 or srice@cardeaservices.org   

Austin                      El Buen Samaritano Episcopal Mission

Contact: Juan Rosa at  512/439-0728 or jrosa@elbuen.org

Austin                      PromoSalud

Contact: Jill Ramírez at 512/484-1507, jill@lationhealthcareforum.org

Round Rock             Texas AHEC East Capital Region

Contact: Jehona Tafilaj - 512/223-0229 or jehona.tafilaj@txaheceast.org

College Station/other areas on request      CCHD’s National Community Health Worker Training Center, Texas A&M School of Public Health

Contact: Katharine Nimmons  at knimmons@srph.tamhsc.edu, 979/436-9364

             

South Texas

Brownsville             University of Texas School of Public Health Dallas Brownsville Campus

Contact: Rosalia Guerrero-Luera at 713/500-9395 or Rosalia.Guerrero@uth.tmc.edu

Corpus Christi        ♦South Coastal Area Health Education Center

Contact: Belinda Flores at 361/881-8133 floresb3@uthscsa.edu

Laredo                      Gateway Community Health Center

Contact: Otila Garcia – 956/523-3626 or otilag.gateway@tachc.org

Laredo/San Antonio/Weslaco             Texas A&M Colonias Program Academy

Contact:

Laredo:  Joe Gutierrez at 956/728-0210 or jgutierrez@arch.tamu.eduToll free: 888/728-6221

San Antonio: 979/862-2374 Toll Free: 800/633-2374

Weslaco: Laura Trevino at 956/447-9355 or ltrevino@arch.tamu.edu Toll Free: 877/447-9355

McAllen/Edinburg       South Texas Promotora Association, Inc.

Contact:  Merida Escobar at 956/383-5393 or Stpa08@outlook.com

San Benito/other areas on request

CCHD’s National Community Health Worker Training Center, Texas A&M School of Public Health

Contact: Katharine Nimmons  at knimmons@srph.tamhsc.edu, 979-436-9364

San Antonio                  Northwest Vista Community College
Contact: Dr. Fernando Martinez at 210/486-4382 or fmartinez1@alamo.edu

Victoria            Texas AHEC East Victoria Region

Contact: Paula Crawford  at 361/485-6811 or paula.crawford@victoriacollege.edu

Weslaco                       Presa Community Center

Contact: Tina Gutierrez, 210/532-5295 Ext 224 or e-mail tgutierrez@presa.org

West Texas

El Paso                          Texas A&M Colonias Program Academy

Contact: Pema Garcia at 915/860-9528 or pgarcia@arch.tamu.edu

Midland/San Angelo             West Texas Area Health Education Center Program

Contact: Chris Felton at 806/743-1338 or c.felton@ttusc.edu

San Elizario                    Familias Triunfadoras, Inc.

Contact: Maria Covernali at 915/851-1141

East Texas

 Houston and other cities     Día de la Mujer Latina

Contact: 281/489-1111 or diadelamujerlatina@gmail.com

Houston                   Gateway to Care

Contact:  Angel Rivera-Gonzalez at 281/400-3650  or arivera@gatewaytocare.org

Houston                   Houston Community College

Contact: Nicole Phinazee at nicole.phinazee@hccs.edu or at 713/718-8953

Title: 160-Hour Community Health Worker Certification Program 

Date:   Courses within the HCC CHW Program are offered at different times of the year scheduled on a college credit semester basis.  

Methodology:  The HCC 160-Hour CHW Program is made up of four (4) college credit courses within the greater Human Services Technology Program.  An optional practicum course is also offered for students completing the required four (4) courses.  

Location:  HCC Coleman College for Health Sciences, 1900 Pressler Street, Houston TX 77030, http://coleman.hccs.edu/  

Time:  Course times vary from semester to semester.  Contact program for course schedule information.  

Cost:  Tuition varies depending on students residency status (in district or out of district).  See http://www.hccs.edu/continuing-education/students/tuitioncalculator/ for current tuition/fee rates. The HCC 160-Hour CHW Program includes a total of 12 credit hours.  The optional practicum course is an additional 2 credit hours.  

Language:  English

 DSHS-Certified Instructors:  Varies from course to course. All faculty teaching in the program are DSHS-Certified Instructors.  

Total Number of DSHS-certified hours: 160 hours (20 hours in each competency: Communication, Interpersonal, Service Coordination, Capacity Building, Advocacy, Teaching, Organizational, and Knowledge base)

Registration: Contact the program Advisor for information about college admissions and financial aid – David Pereida, 713-718-5060, david.pereida@hccs.edu

 

Houston                   Texas AHEC East Greater Houston Area

Contact: Karen Henson-Jones- 713/592-6411or kjones@ghahec.org

Houston                         University of Texas School of Public Health – Houston Regional Campus

Contact: Rosalia Guerrero-Luera at 713/500-9395 or Rosalia.Guerrero@uth.tmc.edu

La Marque                      Texas AHEC East Coastal Region

Contact: Isaac Mancillas at 409/933-0021 isaac.mancillas@txaheceast.org

Nacogdoches                  Texas AHEC East – Pineywoods Region

Contact: Mark Scott at 936/468-6916 or mark.scott@txaheceast.org

Tyler                                Texas AHEC East Northeast Region (Lake County AHEC)

Contact: Marshall Kratz at 903/877-5788 or marshall.kratz@uthct.edu

 

 

Last updated July 07, 2015