• Loading...

    The Environmental Lead Program (ELP) is within the
    Division for Regulatory Services
    P. O. Box 149347
    Austin, TX 787143947
    (512) 834-6770 


    Link to Regulatory Online Licensing

    Apply Online

     


    Report site issues   


    External links to other sites are intended to be informational and do not have the endorsement of the Texas Department of State Health Services. These sites may also not be accessible to people with disabilities.


TEXAS ONLINE CERTIFICATION FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQs)

Loading...

Environmental Lead Program


  1. Who is eligible to renew online?
  2. What can I pay online?
  3. Is there any additional charge that applies to renewing or making an annual fee payment online?
  4. How long will my renewal period be?
  5. Can I print a copy of my entire license renewal information?
  6. What are the online available payment options?
  7. What information do I need to make a payment online?
  8. Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?
  9. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license/registration?
  10. What are the online available payment options?
  11. What information is necessary to make a payment online?
  12. If I have multiple licenses with the same agency, do I need to re-logon to the site?
  13. If I pay online, will I get my license credential faster than if I pay by mail or in person?
  14. Can I renew online any time?
  15. Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?
  16. Whom do I contact with questions regarding my license?
  17. What browser versions does the application support?

1. Who is eligible to renew online?

Any certification (license) or accreditation (license) that is within 60 days of expiration is eligible to be renewed online. The department (as a courtesy) sends out renewal notices to each certified or accredited entity approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the certification or accreditation (failure to receive the renewal notice by the entity does not relieve the entity of the responsibility to make timely renewals). Certifications or accreditations that have expired one year or more beyond the expiration date cannot be renewed. The individual or company must pursue a new license and meet the requirements of an original applicant.

2. What can I pay online?

You can make a payment to renew your certification or accreditation online.

Top of Page

3. Is there any additional charge that applies to renewing online?

Whether or not you choose to renew online, the Texas Department of State Health Services has been authorized by the Texas Legislature and the Texas Online Authority to charge an additional fee (subscription fee) to recover costs associated with development and maintenance of the Texas Online services. The subscription fee will be added to all certification renewal fees regardless of whether you choose to make payments online or mail them to the department.

4. How long will my renewal period be?

The renewal term of the certification or accreditation shall be two years in order to comply with House Bill 2292 (78th Regular Session, Texas Legislature).

Top of Page

5. What if I choose not to renew my certification or accreditation online?

You may still renew your certification or accreditation by mailing in your renewal fee with a complete renewal application by mailing in the payment with your renewal fee. The subscription fee, however, applies to all payments, whether or not you choose to pay your renewal fee online or mailing in this payment to the department.

6. How does the online renewal payment process work?

The online renewal fee payment process is as follows:

  • The first step is to log in by entering your certification or accreditation number and your control number (this control number is located near the bottom right corner of your credential). If your number is accepted, you are eligible to make a payment online.
  • The second step is to answer required questions, review information entered, and then proceed to the payment page.
  • The third step is to provide payment information to make the payment.
  • The final step is to view and print the transaction receipt.

For certification and accreditation renewals, you must now mail your renewal application and copies of any required supporting documentation (i.e., refresher training course completion certificate) to the Licensing Unit of the Division for Regulatory Services. Once the renewal application is reviewed and approved, a new certification certificate and identification (ID) card will be mailed to the applicant (no ID cards are provided for company certifications or accreditations), which will be valid for two years.

Top of Page

7. Can I make changes to my address (residential, mailing, or employer) as part of the online renewal fee payment process?

Yes, you can make changes to your residential, mailing, or employer's address. The certification and accreditation certificate (and ID cards as appropriate) and any correspondence, however, will always be sent to the “mailing” address.

8. Can I print a copy of my entire certification or accreditation renewal fee payment information?

Yes, you can print the payment receipt after completing the online process. There is a printer-friendly version of the payment information available.

Top of Page

9. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary certification or ID card?

No, the certification or accrediation will not be valid until the renewal requirements are met or the fee is paid. The printed payment receipt only verifies that the required payment has been made.

10. What are the online available payment options?

Payments can be made using major credit cards (VISA, MasterCard, Discover Card, or American Express) or electronic check payment method (no debit cards are accepted).

Top of Page

11. What information is necessary to make a payment online?

You will need to know your certification or accreditation number, the control number on your accreditation or certification certificate (located near the bottom right corner of the credential), a valid credit card number, billing name and address for the credit card, and expiration date of the credit card. For electronic check payments, a valid bank routing number and savings/checking account number are required.

12. If I have multiple certifications or accreditations with the same agency, do I need to re-logon to the site?

Yes, you must log in with the correct certification or accreditation number and control number for each certification or accreditation type.

Top of Page

13. If I pay online, will I get my certification or accreditation credential faster than if I pay by mail or in person?

The agency is currently processing all renewal payments within 7 days from the time all requirements are met and payment is processed. The online process should help reduce the turnaround time.

14. Can I renew online at any time?

Yes, the online system is available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week (except for short routine maintenance down time).

Top of Page

15. Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?

Online Support is available through the TexasOnline Helpdesk at (877) 452-9060, or by email at webhelp@texasonlinehelp.com .  Technical questions related to your certification or accreditation license need to be directed to the Licensing Unit of the Division for Regulatory Services (see below).

16. Whom do I contact with questions regarding my certification or accreditation?

You may contact the Texas Department of State Health Services, Division for Regulatory Services, Licensing Unit at (512) 834-6600, ext. 2174 for certification questions or (512) 834-6600, ext. 2483 for training accreditation questions.  You may also call toll-free at (888) 778-9440 (toll-free in Texas), followed by the appropriate extension. This Web site (http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/elp) can also be very helpful in providing information and whereby you may view and download the Texas Environmental Lead Reduction Rules (TELRR), view and download applications, and review other helpful information. 

Top of Page

17. What browser versions does the application support?

The application will support IE version 4.0 and above and Netscape version 4.0 and above.


Back to the Top - Environmental Lead Program (ELP) Home - Links  - Contact Us - Search ELP
Texas Department of State Health Services - Division for Regulatory Services -
P. O. Box 149347 - Austin, Texas 78714-9347 - (512) 834-6770
Last updated August 13, 2010