A person currently certified or licensed as a paramedic in another state or US territory, who meets the department’s academic requirements may apply for paramedic licensure through reciprocity. If you do not meet the academic requirements for licensure, you may be eligible for paramedic certification by reciprocity. The procedure for paramedic certification by reciprocity is significantly different from paramedic licensure reciprocity, read EMS Reciprocity Certification.
Academic Requirements for Paramedic Licensure Reciprocity
A certified paramedic can apply for initial Paramedic Licensure if you meet one of the following:
1. an associate degree in EMS;
2. a baccalaureate degree; or
3. a post graduate degree
The degree must be from a school that is accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as an approved accrediting authority.
Eligibility for Applying for Paramedic Licensure Reciprocity
Be at least 18 years old
Submit a Paramedic Licensure Reciprocity application.
Must have a Current Paramedic certification from another state.
Must have a current National Registry paramedic certification or successfully pass the National Registry Assessment exam
College transcript or a copy of diploma that documents the academic requirements.
Have state(s) submit an Out of State Verification Form A. A form must be completed by EACH state you currently hold or have ever held an EMS certification in.
·Out of State Verification Form A
Must possess the following Academic Requirements
-an associate degree in EMS;
-a baccalaureate degree; or
-a post graduate degree
Mail COMPLETE package to: Texas Department of State Health Services, Cash Receipts Branch, MC 2003, PO Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347.
You will be required to undergo an FBI fingerprint criminal history check using L-1 Identity Solutions. The FAST Pass form, attached to the Reciprocity application, includes instructions for scheduling an appointment with L-1 Identity Solutions, or you may visit their website at; www.L1id.com. Any fees associated with this process will be your responsibility.
If you are unable to go to the L-1 solution site please contact EMS Compliance and Quality Assurance at: 512/834-6700, to receive a hard copy fingerprint card. Please note this will delay our agency receiving your results up to several weeks and requires a law enforcement agency to process your prints.
After verification of your out of state certification/license, background history evaluation, and application processing, your Texas license and ID card will be issued for a 4 year period. A certification verification web page is available for certification status and expiration date verification. The URL address is: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/emstraumasystems/NewCert.shtm Expect application processing to be completed within 4-6weeks of mail date.
If your application is incomplete or does not include all the required attachments, your application processing will be delayed
Frequently Asked Questions for Paramedic Licensure
Paramedic Licensure rule, Texas Administrative Code, Title 25, Part I, Chapter 157.40 - read the paramedic licensure rule
Equivalency for Paramedic Licensure - same as for equivalency certification plus the academic hour requirements
Email questions or comment