The State of Texas defines an "Occupational License" to mean "a license, certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization, including a renewal of the authorization, that a person must obtain to practice or engage in a particular business, occupation, or profession; or a facility must obtain before a particular business, occupation, or profession is practiced or engaged in within the facility." The use of the term "license" within this application is used as a blanket substitute for the terms certificate, registration, permit, or other form of authorization. Its use does not modify any rights, authorities, or responsibilities as provided for under the original document type. Not every type of license is available thru Texas Online to renew or apply for a new license.
Who is eligible to apply for a new license online?
Any applicant applying for their initial business license, or has had a change of ownership (including change of legal entity). To review the laws and rules applicable to the particular license you are attempting to apply for, refer to our links page and go to the Web site of the individual, business or product you are interested in.
Who is eligible to renew online?
Certain license holders whose license is current or expired less than 365 days is eligible to renew online. The agency sends out courtesy renewal notices to each licensee approximately 45 days prior to the expiration date of the license. The licensee will use their license number and their document control number as listed on the previous years license to login to the renewal application process.
If you have had a change of business name (DBA), physical location, or ownership change (including change of legal entity), since your last license was issued, you will not be eligible to renew online. To review the laws and rules applicable to the license you are attempting to renew, please refer to our links page and go to the Web site of the individual, business or product you are interested in.
How long will my license be good for?
New licensees will receive a license that will expire two years from date of payment receipt by DSHS. If you are renewing an existing license, it will expire two years from the current expiration date. If you are applying more then 30 days after your start date of the regulated activity, additional fees may be applicable.
If I apply online, will I get my license faster than if I apply by mail or in person?
The Texas Department of State Health Services, (DSHS) is currently processing all applications and renewals within 21 days of received date. Online applications and renewals are submitted daily to DSHS, therefore, the mailing time to DSHS is eliminated.
Can I change my name or physical address as part of the online renewal?
No. Name changes and change of physical address require an amended application to be completed and submitted with the applicable fee. This service is not provided thru Texas Online. You may download an amended application from the Applications/Forms page of this Web site.
Can I change my billing or mailing address at the time of renewal?
Yes. You may change your billing and/or mailing address. The billing address you enter is the location where your license and courtesy renewal form will be mailed. The mailing address you enter is where correspondence regarding the facility will be mailed.
Are there any continuing professional education requirements for applying for my license?
If you are applying for a Retail Food Operation permit you may be required to complete a Certified Food Managers course. Food establishments, permitted by The Department of State Health Services and handling, preparing, or serving exposed potentially hazardous foods, must employ a certified food manager. For more information on this course visit the DSHS Food Establishments Web site's Certified Food Manager Program page.
Can I print a copy of my entire license information?
Yes. There is a printer-friendly version of the information available.
What are the online available payment options?
Payments may be made using credit cards (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX) or electronic check payment methods (ACH).
What information do I need to make a payment online?
Payment online requires a valid credit card number, expiration date, billing name of the card holder, and billing address of the card holder. For electronic check payments, a valid bank routing number and Savings/Checking account number is required.
Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?
Are there any penalties associated with late payments?
Late charges are assessed on renewals if the fee is not paid by the expiration date on the current license.
Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license?
No. The printed payment receipt only verifies payment for your new license. A license is not issued until all requested information has been evaluated and approved. The license will be issued to the licensee by DSHS once all requirements for licensure are met. The license will be issued within 21 business days after review and approval of the application.
Can I apply for a new license or renew a license online any time?
Yes. The system is available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, (24/7) except for routine maintenance down time.
Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?
24/7 Online Support is available through the Texas Online Helpdesk at 1-877-452-9060, or by email at TexasOnline Web Help
If I am unable to login to the site, whom do I contact?
The online renewal process allows eligible licensees to renew online. Eligibility is determined by DSHS. In the event you are unable to login to the site, please refer to the eligibility requirements page for renewal criteria, and/or contact DSHS to confirm eligibility.
How do I contact DSHS?
See the Contact Us page on this site. You may visit the DSHS website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/fdlicense for contact information, applicable laws and rules, and additional licensing information.
What browser versions does the application support?
The application will support IE (Internet Explorer) versions 4.0 and above and Netscape versions 4.0 and above.