State of Texas Eliminates Licensing and Regulation of Seven Occupations/Businesses
A new state law, Senate Bill 202, was recently passed by the Texas Legislature. The new law becomes effective September 1, 2015. State law will no longer require a license issued by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) for the following businesses and occupations:
- Rendering businesses
- Contact lens dispensers
- Tanning facilities
- Personal emergency response providers
- Bottled and vended water certificates of competency
On and after July 1, 2015, DSHS will not issue new licenses or renew expiring licenses for these programs.
To learn more about Senate Bill 202, please select http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/Home.aspx and enter SB202 in the search field.
DSHS will soon be notifying license holders and interested parties directly of this change in Texas law. If you have questions, please contact us via e-mail at email@example.com.
Firms that do any of the following are required to obtain a Food Manufacturer license (Click on Applications/Forms in the box to the right).
- Process and bottle water in sealed containers
- Dispense water through retail outlet(s) where either bottles are provided or the customer brings their own.
- Dispense water through stand alone vending machines. Each vending machine must be licensed separately.
Additional Requirement for Operator Certification of Competency
Texas bottled water plants, water stores, and water vending machines are required to be operated under the supervision of a person who has obtained a certificate of competency for bottled and vended water operators. The intent of the certification is to ensure that production of bottled and vended water is conducted by persons educated in the proper methods of production, processing, treatment, and distribution of bottled and vended water products. This person must complete an application to take the exam (click on Applications/Forms in the box to the right) or select this link. Note: This is not a license to conduct a food operation.
The regulations covering Bottled and Vended Water Operator Certification may be found on our Web site under the Rules/Regulations link located in the box to the right.
Important Information to Note:
Only one type certificate will be issued. The certificate is valid for up to two years and fees are $106.00. In addition, for all applications and renewal applications, DSHS is authorized to collect subscription and convenience fees in amounts determined by the Texas Online Authority to recover costs associated with applications and renewal processing through Texas Online.
An applicant must pass an examination provided by the Texas Department of State Health Services to receive a certification. All exam questions will be from material in the Bottled and Vended Water Operator Certification Manual. You must complete an exam application (click on Applications/Forms in the box to the right).
Exams may be taken in various public health regional offices throughout the state after an application has been received and approved from the main office in Austin.
All certificates expire two years from the date of issuance. A renewal certificate costs $106.00. As stated above, subscription and convenience fees will be added.
If the Department of State Health Services has not received a completed application for renewal within 60 days following the expiration date, the certificate holder shall submit a new application and retake the examination.