- Who is eligible to apply for an initial (new) Hazardous Consumer Product registration online?
- Who is eligible to renew online?
- Is there any additional charge that applies to applying for a registration online?
- What if I choose not to apply for my new or renewal registration online?
- How long will my registration period be?
- How does the online application for a new registration work?
- What are the steps in the renewal process?
- If I apply online, will I get my registration faster than if I apply by mail or in person?
- Can I change my name as part of the online renewal or address change?
- Can I change my address at the time of renewal?
- Can I print a copy of my entire registration information?
- What are the online available payment options?
- What information do I need to make a payment online?
- Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?
- Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license or registration?
- Can I apply online any time?
- Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?
- If I am unable to login to the site, who should I contact?
- How do I contact the agency?
1. Who is eligible to apply for an initial (new) Hazardous Consumer Product registration online?
Any manufacturer, importer, repackager, or private-label distributor of one or more hazardous consumer products may apply for a new (initial) Hazardous Consumer Products registration (license) through TexasOnline.
2. Who is eligible to renew online?
Any Hazardous Consumer Product (HazPro) registration (license) holder whose registration is current or expired less than 60 days is eligible to renew online. The agency sends out renewal notices to each licensee or registrant approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license/registration. The licensee will use their registration number and Texas (9 digit) or Federal (11 digit) Tax ID number to login to the application. If you have not provided the agency with your correct tax identification number, you are not eligible for online renewal.
3. Is there any additional charge that applies to applying for a registration online?
Yes, the Texas Department of State Health Services has been authorized by the Texas Legislature and the Texas Online Authority to charge an additional fee (subscription fee) to recover costs associated with development and maintenance of the Texas Online services. The subscription fee will be added to your registration fee. The subscription fee applies to all license holders, whether or not you choose to apply for your registration online.
Back to Top
4. What if I choose not to apply for my new or renewal registration online?
You may still obtain your registration by submitting a completed Hazardous Consumer Products registration application with the registration fee and all required documentation to: Cash Receipts Branch, MC 2003; Hazardous Consumer Products Registration Program ZZ109 130; Texas Department of State Health Services; PO Box 149347; Austin, TX 78714-9347. Make checks or money orders for the fee payable to: DSHS - ZZ109-130. The TexasOnline subscription fee applies to all licenses, whether you choose to apply online or not.
5. How long will my registration period be?
The term of all Hazardous Consumer Product registrations is two years.
6. How does the online application for a new registration work?
The online application process is very simple. The first step is to enter the Business Location Name and Texas (11 digit) or Federal (9 digit) tax identification number. You will then need to proceed through a series of application screens, entering contact information, indicating the type of ownership and operation, and indicating the types of hazardous consumer product categories for which the registration will apply. You will then have an opportunity to review the information that you have entered and make any necessary corrections. Finally, you will proceed to the payment screen. After you have made your online payment, you will be able to print a transaction receipt. The new registration (license) will be mailed to your business mailing address by the agency.
Back to Top
7. What are the steps in the renewal process?
The first step is to Login by entering your company's current registration number and Texas (11 digit) or Federal (9 digit) tax identification number. This step allows the application to verify eligibility. If you are eligible to renew, you will be given an option to renew at this time. A change of address can also be completed in conjunction with the renewal. The next steps are to answer required questions, review information entered, and then proceed to the payment page. After providing payment information, the final step is to view and print the transaction receipt. The renewed registration will be mailed to the registrant by the agency.
8. If I apply online, will I get my registration faster than if I apply by mail or in person?
Yes. The agency is currently processing all Hazardous Consumer Product registration applications within 7 days from the time all requirements are met and payment is processed. Online applications and online changes of address are submitted daily to the agency. Therefore, with online applications, the mailing time to the agency is eliminated and the application process will take less time.
9. Can I change my name as part of the online renewal or address change?
Yes, corporate name changes can be done at the time of your renewal online.
Back to Top
10. Can I change my address at the time of renewal?
Yes, you can change your corporation & business location address(es) at the time of renewal. The corporation address you enter will be used as the mailing address for your registration certificate and renewal notice forms.
11. Can I print a copy of my entire registration information?
You can print a Transaction Receipt, which is a printer-friendly document of the information you provided and the fee that was paid. The Transaction Receipt provides proof of application and fee payment, but does not serve as an actual registration certificate. Once the Hazardous Consumer Products Registration Program has reviewed and approved your online application, you will be mailed a registration certificate (license) that will serve as your proof of compliance with the Texas Hazardous Substances Act (Health & Safety Code, Chapter 501) and rules.
12. What are the online available payment options?
Payments can be made using credit cards (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express) or ACH electronic check payment methods.
Back to Top
13. What information do I need to make a payment online?
You will need a valid credit card number, expiration date, billing name, and billing address. For electronic check payments, a valid bank routing number and savings or checking account number is required.
14. Can I print the payment receipt after completing the online process?
Yes, it is part of the Transaction Receipt, which can be printed.
15. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license or registration?
No, your registration (new or renewal) is not issued until all registration requirements are met. The printed payment receipt only verifies that you have submitted an application for registration and have paid your required license fee.
Back to Top
16. Can I apply online any time?
Yes, the system is available 7 days per week, 24 hours per day, except for routine maintenance down time.
17. Whom do I contact with technical difficulties in operating the site?
24/7 Online Support is available through the TexasOnline Helpdesk at 1-877-452-9060, or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
18. If I am unable to login to the site, who should I contact?
The online application process allows eligible registrants to apply online. Eligibility is determined by the agency. In the event you are unable to login to the site, please refer to the eligibility requirements page for renewal criteria, and/or contact the agency to confirm eligibility.
19. How do I contact the agency?
Hazardous Consumer Products Registration Program Contact Us Page
Back to Top