• Loading...

    The Health Facility Program is within the Division for Regulatory Services.


    Renew Online

    Online Renewals and FAQs 

    External links to other sites are intended to be informational and do not have the endorsement of the Texas Department of State Health Services. These sites may not be accessible to people with disabilities.


Ambulatory Surgical Centers

Loading...

Rule

 

The Texas Ambulatory Surgical Center Licensing Act was first enacted in 1985 by the 69th Legislature. Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs) are commonly referred to as "day surgery centers." An ASC must provide surgical services as its primary service. ASCs do not provide overnight or inpatient care. Care is provided on an out-patient basis.

The Facility Licensing Group develops rules that establish minimum standards for Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs) licensing procedures; for granting, denying, suspending, and revoking a license; for licensing fees; for operation; and for requirements concerning design, construction, and the Life Safety Code. ASCs are required to submit an Annual Report to the department(click here to view link).

The Architectural Review Group is responsible for conducting plan reviews and construction inspections of new and existing ASCs.

The staff of the Facility Licensing Group is responsible for licensing ASCs. To become licensed please see the How to Become a Licensed Ambulatory Surgical Center and License Application.

Directories of Ambulatory Surgical Centers

Rule


CMS S&C Letter 5/21/10 – Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC) Waiting Area Separation Requirements

Rule

Accreditation

Ambulatory Surgical Centers may be accredited. Accrediting programs are the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JACHO), the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC), and the American Association of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities, Inc. (AAAASF).

Rule

Fees

Initial . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $5,200

Change of Ownership. . $5,200

Relocation. . . . . . . . . . . $5,200

Rule

Medicare Information

Ambulatory Surgical Centers may choose to be certified to participate in the federal Medicare Program. For more information on the certification process, refer to Rules/Regulation link on right-hand side menu box or contact the your zone office. See theCity-Region-Zone List to find your appropriate zone office.

Rule

Survey Components

During the initial licensing period, department zone office staff will conduct an on-site survey to ascertain compliance with the provision on the Health and Safety Code and associated rules. Entrance conference with key facility personnel and department zone office staff. During the survey, zone office staff will explain the survey process and answer questions.

  • Review clinical records
  • Review facility policies and procedures
  • Review quality assurance activities
  • Review personnel records
  • Interview staff
  • Conduct site visits as applicable
  • Exit conference with key facility personnel. Discuss survey findings.

Audit Tool

Please see applicable state and federal rules and regulations.

Hard rule
Back to the Top - Health Facility Program Home -- Site Map -- Links - Contact Us
Texas Department of State Health Services, Health Facillity Licensing Program
1100 West 49th Street - Austin, Texas 78756 - (512) 834-6646

  • Loading...
Last updated May 09, 2013