Senate Bill 338, passed in 2001 by the 77th Texas Legislature, requires licensed nurses in Texas to receive no less than two hours of continuing education credit relating to hepatitis C virus (HCV). This requirement applies to license holders who renew their licenses between June 1, 2002 and June 1, 2004. A partial list of available HCV trainings that meet the new legislative requirements follows:
The Texas Department of Health (TDH) offered an HCV continuing education (CE) course to nurses. The TDH Public Health Nursing CE Service was accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nursing Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation. This course offered 2.4 contact hours and was available to all nurses in Texas. The cost was $5.00 per participant. Due to State budget cuts, DSHS no longer provides the CE course for nurses effective August 31, 2003. For additional information, please Cindi Blair of the DSHS Training and Public Education Program or call (512) 533-3026.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) offers an on-line HCV training for nurses with 3.0 contact hours and is available at no charge. The internet address is www.cdc.gov/ncidod/diseases/hepatitis/ [CDC]. On the left side of the screen will be "On-Line Training." Select this and follow screen instructions.
The Texas Nurses Association (TNA) offers a 2 hour activity available online or in hardcopy. Costs for the course run from $14 to $15. Check the TNA website at www.texasnurses.org [TNA] for more information as well as more information on license renewal requirement dates.
Hep C Advocate Network, Inc (HepCAN) collaborated with the Texas Nurses Association to develop a two-hour CNE program for HCV. For more information, call (903) 291-9700.
The National Center of Continuing Education (NCCE), Inc., offers HCV CNEs in booklet form. After studying the material and completing the answer sheet, mail the answer sheet along with $16.95 for 2.0 contact hours of HCV CNE credit. Copies may be obtained by contacting the National Center of Continuing Education at (800) 824-1254.
Austin Community College (ACC) Health Professions Institute offers 2.0 contact hours of CNE credit in two options:
Independent Video Study with self-study packet completed at home.
Hepatitis C: The Latest Threat (HPRS 5096)
Two contact hours, $10.00 Classroom Course:
Hepatitis C: What You Should Know (HPRS 7029)
Two contact hours, $20.00
This course will be offered several times each semester.
For additional information on either of these ACC courses, please call (512) 223-7542.
Hepatitis C Prevention Counseling Training