Community Mental Health Contracts

The Community Mental Health Contracts section of the DSHS web site provides for the download of performance contracts and other materials that support a network of community mental health centers across the state of Texas.

Community mental health centers are locally governed components of the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) service delivery system. In 247 counties, DSHS delegates a community mental health center the responsibilities of a mental health authority which ensures the provision and continuity of services for individuals with mental illness.

NorthSTAR, a behavioral health service system, through which mental health and substance abuse services are provided to eligible consumers, serves seven counties. NorthSTAR is composed of the Dallas Area NorthSTAR Authority (DANSA) and a Behavioral Health Managed Care Organizations (BHO). DANSA provides local authority functions and the BHO manages a provider network, including several community mental health centers. Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Hunt, Kaufman, Navarro and Rockwall are the counties served by NorthSTAR.

Last updated October 10, 2014