How do I become licensed for the first time?
1. Successfully complete a course on midwifery (either on-site or correspondence course) approved by the Texas Midwifery Board AND successfully pass the state approved comprehensive written exam;
2. Successfully complete a MEAC-accredited course on midwifery AND successfully pass the state approved comprehensive written exam AND successfully complete a continuing education course on the current Texas Midwifery Basic Information and Instructor Manual;
3. Qualify for certification by NARM and complete the NARM certification process, thereby becoming a Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) AND successfully complete a continuing education course on the current Texas Midwifery Basic Information and Instructor Manual.
You would then send proof of successful completion of one of the three alternatives listed above, along with a license application; copy of current CPR card issued by either the Red Cross or American Heart Association; a copy of a Neonatal Resuscitation training card issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics; either a Newborn Screening Plan, or evidence of approved training in Newborn Screening; proof of passing the board’s online Jurisprudence Examination; and an application fee of $280. Once licensed, you renew your license every two years, paying a $562 fee and providing any other information required under current rules. The renewal requirement for continuing education is presently 20 hours for each 2 year renewal. You must also complete the board's online Jurisprudence Examination every four years (every other renewal). In addition, you must familiarize yourself with Texas law and rules governing the practice of midwifery.