August 31, 2006
The Texas Department of State Health Services is advising that letters from “Texas Food Service Compliance Center” sent to restaurants and other retail food establishments around the state contain wrong information about hand-washing sign requirements.
The letter, accompanied by an order form for hand-washing posters selling for up to $19.95 each, implies that hand-washing signs must meet certain format and size requirements and cannot be “self-made.” The letter also indicates that businesses can be fined up to $2,500 if they do not post “approved” signs.
DSHS food safety officials say that while state regulations require signs, posters or icons notifying employees to wash their hands, there are no content, size, or format requirements and no fine for non-compliance.
Similar letters have surfaced in several other states.
(News Media: for more information contact Doug McBride, DSHS Press Officer, 512-458-7524.)