• Loading...

    External links to other sites are intended to be informational and do not have the endorsement of the Texas Department of State Health Services.

Primary Health Care Program (PHC) Eligibility Criteria


The Primary Health Care Services (PHC) Program contracts with health care providers to provide access to basic health care services for those individuals who are unable to access the same care through insurance or other programs. Primary Health Care Services must provide six priority services: Diagnosis and treatment; emergency services; family planning services; preventive health services including immunizations; health education; laboratory; x-ray; nuclear medicine or other appropriate diagnostic services. Other services that may also be included are nutrition services, health screening, home health care, dental care, transportation services, prescription drugs and devices and durable supplies, environmental health services, podiatry services and social services. Services are provided only through those health care providers who have contracted with DSHS to provide PHC services.

Eligibility Criteria
For an individual to receive services through PHC, three (3) criteria must be met:

  1. gross family income at or below 200% of the adopted Federal Poverty Level;
  2. a Texas resident; and
  3. not eligible (or potentially eligible) for other programs/benefits providing the same services.

Eligible Income - 2013 Federal Poverty Income Guidelines (200%)


Family Size

Annual Maximum

Monthly Maximum

1 Person



2 People



3 People



4 People



5 People



6 People



7 People



8 People



Effective April 1, 2013

Welfare Reform
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), P.L. 104-193 restricts the access of certain categories of immigrants to specified Federal benefits. However, does not apply to PHC since it is a State funded program.

For more information on eligibility, contact a PHC provider near you.

Top of Page

Last updated October 11, 2013