

Texas Department of State Health Services

AGENDA

Governor's EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) Trauma Systems Committee Meeting Department of State Health Services (DSHS)

Thursday, March 7, 2024 2:30 PM- 4:00 PM DoubleTree by Hilton Austin, Phoenix Central Ballroom 6505 N Interstate 35 Austin, TX 78752

This meeting will be conducted live and virtually through Microsoft Teams.

Virtual meeting links are posted to the GETAC webpage at

www.dshs.texas.gov/dshs-ems-trauma-systems/governors-ems-trauma-advisorycouncil.

Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

Della Johnson, RN, Brian Eastridge, MD, Alan Tyroch, MD, Council Liaisons Jorie Klein, RN, Elizabeth Stevenson, RN, DSHS

- 1. Call to Order Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 2. Roll Call DSHS Staff
- 3. Reading of the GETAC Vision and Mission Statements Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

GETAC Vision: A unified, comprehensive, and effective Emergency Healthcare System.

GETAC Mission: To promote, develop, and advance an accountable, patient-centered Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System.

- 4. Review and Approval of November 19, 2023, Meeting Minutes Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 5. Introduction of new committee members Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 6. GETAC Chair Comments Alan Tyroch, MD, GETAC Chair

- 7. EMS/Trauma Systems Update Jorie Klein, MSN, MHA, BSN, RN, EMS/Trauma Systems Director, Elizabeth Stevenson, RN, Manager Designation Unit
- 8. Trauma Center Spotlight Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

Committee discussion and possible action on the following items:

- 9. 2024 Committee Priorities Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
 - a. Monitor trauma rules process.
 - b. Assess the rural trauma gap.
 - c. Facilitate Regional Advisory Council (RAC) development Lori Robb, RN
 - d. Monitor trauma center designation process Texas EMS, Trauma and Acute Care Foundation (TETAF) report
- 10. Pediatric Disaster Preparedness Guidance Document for Hospitals Sam Vance, LP, Pediatric Disaster Workgroup
- 11. National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) Integration in Texas Eric Epley, Chair, GETAC Disaster Preparedness and Response Committee
- 12. Assess Rural Trauma Gap: Tracking Tool for Trauma Transfer Delays Southwest Texas Regional Advisory Council (STRAC)
- 13. Committee Statement of Purpose Committee Members
- 14. Trauma rules process and status Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 15. Trauma systems update: Designation monitoring Elizabeth Scherer, MD
- 16. Trauma systems update: Data reports and analysis Raul Barreda, MD
- 17. Trauma systems update: RAC Development Lori Robb, RN
- 18. Trauma systems update: Funding Kathy Rodgers, RN
- 19. Stakeholder Report: Stop the Bleed Texas Coalition
- 20. Injury Severity Score (ISS) Coding/ Trauma Quality Improvement Program (TQIP) Preparedness Workgroup – Anne Feeler, RN
- 21. Texas System Performance Improvement Plan and Recommendations for Trauma Outcome Measures – Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 22. General Public Comment Comment time may be limited at Chair's discretion.
- 23. Summary of action items for GETAC meeting report Committee Members
- 24. Announcements Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

- 25. Review and list agenda items for next meeting Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 26. Next meeting date Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair
- 27. Adjournment Stephen Flaherty, MD, Chair

Public Comment: The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) welcomes public comments pertaining to topics related to Emergency Health Care. Members of the public are encouraged to participate in this process by providing written public comments to DSHS by emailing <u>deidra.lee@dshs.texas.gov</u> no later than 5:00 PM, March 1, 2024. Please include your name and either the organization you are representing or that you are speaking as a private citizen. Written comments are limited to three minutes and will be read during the meeting for consideration by the Council. The request must contain your name, the name of the organization you represent or that you are speaking as a private citizen, and your direct phone number.

Public comment is limited to three minutes. Speakers must state their name, affiliation, and on whose behalf they are speaking. Public members who are using handouts are asked to provide an electronic copy in accessible pdf format that will be distributed by DSHS staff to Council members and state staff and for public distribution. Handouts are limited to two pages of documentation (paper size: 8.5" by 11", one side only). Handouts must be emailed to DSHS by 5:00 PM, March 1, 2024, and include the name of the person commenting.

Note: These procedures may be revised at the discretion of DSHS.

Contact: Questions regarding agenda items, content, or meeting arrangements should be directed to Jorie Klein, DSHS, at 512-535-8538 or <u>Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</u>.

People with disabilities who wish to attend the meeting and require auxiliary aids or services should contact Jorie Klein at 512-535-8538 or <u>Jorie.Klein@dshs.texas.gov</u> at least 72 hours before the meeting so appropriate arrangements can be made.