Under current board rules, a social worker's license expires every two years in the month of their birth. If a licensee does not return their license renewal notice (with a postmark by the last date of the birth month), the license is considered expired as of the last day of the birth month. Completion of approved continuing education is required for renewal.
To access documents in Adobe Acrobat format, you must download the Acrobat Reader software. Please see the DSHS file viewing page for more information and a link to the Adobe website.
When do I renew my license?
Licenses must be renewed every two years. The renewal must be postmarked by the last day of the license holder's birth month. Failure to receive a renewal notice in the mail does not release the license holder from the responsibility of renewing the license in a timely manner.
What are the renewal fees?
The biennial fees for licensure are:
Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW) $86
Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) $86
Licensed Master Social Worker-Advanced Practitioner (LMSW-AP) $106
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) $106
Inactive LBSW, LMSW, LMSW-AP and LCSW $36
What can I do if my license has expired?
Documenting all required continuing education and paying all back fees, a licensee may renew a license that is expired less than one year. In addition to the renewal fees, there are penalty fees for late renewal. The penalty fees are as follows:
Late fee 0-90 days:
Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW) $20
Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) $20
Licensed Master Social Worker-Advanced Practitioner (LMSW-AP) $25
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) $25
Late fee 91-365 days:
Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW) $40
Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) $40
Licensed Master Social Worker-Advanced Practitioner (LMSW-AP) $50
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) $50
May I maintain my license if I am not working as a social worker or not living in Texas?
Employment in a social work position or residence in Texas is not required to hold an active license. However, inactive status is available if you are not currently employed in social work or are living outside of Texas. Inactive status may be requested in writing any time prior to the expiration of the license, and it requires payment of an inactive status conversion fee of $30. Inactive status requires biennial renewal. While you are on inactive status, no documentation of continuing education is required. If you are on inactive status, you may return to active licensure without penalty or reapplication by putting the request in writing and paying the renewal fee.
What happens to my license if I retire?
Retired persons 55 or older and disabled persons of any age who are not working as a social worker may apply for an emeritus license. An emeritus license is valid for life as long as you do not return to full- or part-time paid employment. No renewal fees are charged, and no continuing education is required.
When should I notify the board of an address change?
It is your responsibility to notify the board in writing of any address changes within 30 days. You are responsible for all penalty charges incurred due to failure to notify the board of an address change. Be sure to print or type all address changes. Include your name as it appears on your license, your license number, your new address, and home phone number.
Are there other requirements once I become licensed?
Yes. You are required to comply with all licensing regulations and to notify the board if you are arrested for a crime. You must also inform the board of any criminal investigations or convictions or of any complaints filed against you or any action by any licensing or certification body related to health or mental health care services.