View the rules on the State of Texas web site:
Senate Bill (SB) 162 of the 83rd Legislature, Regular Session, (2013) amended the Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, requiring the TSBSWE to implement the statute by proposing new rules. The proposed rules amend Title 22 of the Texas Administrative Code, §781.419 adding new language to define military service member, military spouse, and military veteran as well as application and eligibility procedures that apply to those individuals. The proposed rules have been published in the July 4, 2014, Texas Register and are available for review on the Texas Secretary of State’s website at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/index.shtml. The public comment period is 30 days, starting on July 5, 2014.
Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Sarah Faszholz, Executive Director, Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners, Mail Code 1982, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas, 78714-9347 or by email to email@example.com. When emailing comments, please indicate “Comments on Proposed Rules” in the subject line. Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the Texas Register.
SOCIAL WORK RULES – EFFECTIVE MARCH 28, 2013
The board’s current rules are always available and up-to-date on the Texas Secretary of State’s website for the Texas Administrative Code at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac/index.shtml. The board’s rules are located in Title 22 of the Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 781.
As a courtesy to the public, the staff of the board also creates a reformatted version of the rules, which is available as a word document and as a pdf document, and may be more easily accessed than the rules available on the Texas Secretary of State’s website. Whenever a conflict exists between the board’s reformatted version of the law or rules and those on the Texas Secretary of State’s website, the version of the Texas Secretary of State is the correct version.
Another staff-created document which compares the 2011 rules to the new rules is available here.
Rules (Effective March 28, 2013)
The social work rules were published in the Texas Register and became effective March 28, 2013.
Older Versions of the Rules
Download or print a copy of the June 12, 2011 rules:
Download or print a copy of the 2008 rules:
To access documents in Adobe Acrobat format, you must download the Acrobat Reader software. Please see the DSHS file viewing page for more information and a link to the Adobe website.