The Department of State Health Services (DSHS), along with the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) administers Texas Health Steps under funding from Title XIX of the Social Security Act for early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services for children from birth through 20 years old who have Medicaid. All DSHS Health Service Regional offices have provider relations staff to help operate Texas Health Steps statewide.
DSHS operates Texas Health Steps under provisions in the Social Security Act, § 1905, and the Consent Decree requirements resulting from Frew, et al. v. Janek, et al. Texas Health Steps is authorized under the regulations of the:
- Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual (TMPPM)
- Texas Health Steps Medical and Dental Rules - Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 33, Subchapters A through F
- Code of Federal Regulations, Title 42, Chapter IV, § 441.50
- Health and Human Services Commission Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 1, Part 15, Chapter 353, Subchapters A through H
Several additional legislative requirements affect Texas Health Steps and the participating providers. These include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Newborn Blood Screening, Health and Safety Code, Title 2, Subtitle B, Chapter 33, Sec.A33.001
- Accompaniment of a child younger than 15 years of age, Texas Human Resources Code, Title2, Chapter 32, §§32.024(s)–(s-1); and Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 25, Part 1, Chapter 33, Subpart A, §33.2(1) and §33.6(7).
- Requirements for Reporting Abuse or Neglect, as outlined in Chapter 261 of the Texas Family Code, relating to investigations of reports of child abuse and neglect.
- Simplified Enrollment, Texas Human Resources Code, §32.025.
- Early Childhood Intervention (ECI), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 34, Chapter III, Part 303, Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 73, and Texas Administrative Code, Title 40, Chapter 108, Part 2.
- Newborn Hearing Screening, Health and Safety Code, Chapter 47.