• Loading...

    The Tier II Chemical Reporting Program is within the Division for Regulatory Services.

    Report site issues

    External links to other sites are intended to be informational and do not have the endorsement of the Texas Department of State Health Services. These sites may also not be accessible to people with disabilities.



Tier II Chemical Reporting Program 

This page provides links to statutes and laws pertaining to the Tier II Chemical Reporting Program.

Links to sites outside the Texas Department of State Health Services are intended to be informational and do not necessarily imply any official endorsement. Staff associated with the Tier II Chemical Reporting Program routinely review the links, but we cannot guarantee the validity of information provided at outside sites.



Texas Community Right-To-Know Acts (TCRAs)

The Community Right-to-Know Program has been established under both federal and state laws.  As a result of these laws, all facilities that store significant quantities of hazardous chemicals must share this information with state and local emergency responders and planners.  Facilities in Texas share this information by filing annual hazardous chemical inventories called Texas Tier Two Forms with the state, with Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs), and with local fire departments.   The Texas Tier Two Reports contain facility identification information and detailed chemical data about hazardous chemicals stored at the facility.  Emergency response personnel, such as fire fighters, can use information contained in Texas Tier Two Reports to plan response strategies in the event that an emergency situation arises.  Private citizens in the community may request and receive copies of the Texas Tier Two Reports, as well as custom reports generated from Texas Tier Two data.

The Tier Two Registration Group serves as the state repository for community right-to-know information, provides outreach for compliance on both the federal and state laws, supports Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) in community right-to-know endeavors, and administers an enforcement program.  In 1999, the Section received and processed over 50,000 Texas Tier Two Reports, which are required to be maintained for 30 years.  Annual inventory filing fees, which are collected under the TCRAs, provide the funding for both the community and worker right-to-know programs.

The community right-to-know laws are separated into three separate sections:


Texas Health and Safety Code


Chapter 505 Manufacturing Facility Community Right-To-Know Act
Chapter 506 Public Employer Community Right-To-Know Act
Chapter 507 Non-manufacturing Facilities Community Right-To-Know Act


  • Loading...
Last updated June 23, 2014