Introduction

Loading...

You are viewing this website, A Woman's Right to Know, because you are thinking about having an abortion.

Texas law says your doctor must talk to you about certain things before you can have an abortion. Texas law requires a doctor to notify a parent of a patient who is less than 18 years of age (a minor) before the minor can have an abortion unless the court grants a waiver. Ask the doctor or clinic for the parental notification booklet, So You’re Pregnant, Now What?, if you are a minor.

After you get this information, your doctor must wait 24 hours before your abortion can be performed. You and your doctor should talk carefully and privately. Some of the things your doctor must talk about with you include:

  • How long you’ve been pregnant.
  • The medical risks of having an abortion.
  • The medical risks of continuing your pregnancy.

Another booklet has been prepared for you, called A Woman’s Right to Know Resource Directory. Your doctor should give you a copy of it. It lists programs and services that can help you through pregnancy, childbirth and the child’s dependency. It will give you the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of these programs. The directory also has information about public and private adoption agencies.

Many public and private agencies and community resources (family, friends, faith-based organizations) are available to provide counseling and information. You are strongly urged to seek their assistance to obtain guidance during your pregnancy. In addition, you are encouraged to seek information on abortion services; alternatives to abortion, including adoption; and resources available to postpartum mothers and women who have had an abortion.

This Web site is secure. No one from the Department of State Health Services will collect or record any information about you.


Next Page - Characteristics of the Unborn Child

 

Contact Woman's Right To Know

Last updated December 05, 2012