Binational Health Councils



Binational Health Councils for U.S. - México border sister-cities were established during the XXI U.S. Mexico Border Health Association meeting in Nogales, Arizona in 1963. The councils were created to promote unity and collaboration between health officials of sister cities. As the councils matured, their purpose evolved to include examining health needs, problems, and available programs with particular attention and concern to the Council's geographical area. This effort was initiated to consider how its members could promote joint actions in common benefit of residents on both sides of the border.

There are eight Binational Health Councils along the Texas-Mexico border:

  • Paso del Norte Binational Health Council (El Paso/Juarez/Las Cruces) 
  • Presidio/Ojinaga Binational Health Council 
  • Del Rio/Ciudad Acuña Binational Health Council 
  • HOPE-K Trinational Health Council (Eagle Pass/Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas/Piedras Negras)
  • Los Dos Laredos Binational Health Council (Laredo/Nuevo Laredo/Nuevo León) 
  • SMAC Binational Health Council (Starr County/Miguel Aleman/Camargo) 
  • HIDA REY Binational Health Council (Hidalgo County/Reynosa) 
  • Brownsville / Matamoros Binational Health Council 

    * The commonly used Spanish abbreviation for Binational Health Councils is the COBINAS (Consejos Binacionales de Salud).
Last updated July 30, 2021