Map of DSHS Border Area


The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) border area is defined as the area within 100 kilometers (or 62 miles) of the Rio Grande in the La Paz Agreement of 1986, which includes the 32 Texas Border Counties (listed below), and Mexico.

This map will help identify the counties that are within the Texas-Mexico Border area that requires notification be made to the Office of Border Health (OBH) for DSHS Border activities, communications or initiatives (including interactions with Mexico) that are specifically focused on or affect individuals in the Texas-Mexico Border area.




      Brewster La Salle
      Brooks Maverick
      Cameron McMullen
      Crockett Pecos
      Culberson Presidio
      Dimmit Real
      Duval Reeves
      Edwards Starr
      El Paso Sutton
      Frio Terrell
      Hidalgo Uvalde
      Hudspeth Val Verde
      Jeff Davis Webb
      Jim Hogg Willacy
      Kenedy Zapata
      Kinney Zavala
Last updated September 24, 2019