An application for registration as a Code Enforcement Officer (CEO) includes the appropriate application fee in the form of a money order or guaranteed funds; a completed application, i.e., all questions must be answered and all blank lines filled in; a notarized copy of the applicant's GED, high school diploma, or college diploma or transcript; and a notarized copy of the applicant's TEEX certificate. Upon approval of the application, the applicant must pass the required exam. All applicants must disclose all felony and misdemeanor arrests, charges, and convictions. Criminal history includes receiving deferred adjudication or being arrested, charged, or convicted of a crime other than a minor misdemeanor traffic offense. Please note that Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) are not minor traffic offenses. Official court documents may be required. Failure to report accurate criminal history may jeopardize the applicant's application. See 25 TAC §140.163, Registration of Persons with Criminal Backgrounds, for more information. See 25 TAC §140.169 for information regarding requests for criminal history evaluations.
To sit for the Code Enforcement Officer exam, an applicant must submit all required fees and paperwork, complete the training course AND either (1) submit the Employer Affidavit Form C showing proof of the minimum 1 year of code enforcement experience (not less than 32 hours per week) OR (2) submit a completed Supervisor Contract Form D showing that the applicant is employed and will be supervised by a registered Code Enforcement Officer in the job duties which include code enforcement. An individual without experience in code enforcement who is not currently employed in a setting in which he/she can gain the required experience may not register as a Code Enforcement Officer in Training (CIT).
Upon approval of the application, a letter will be forwarded to the applicant advising that the requirements have been met and the examination may be taken. This letter must be presented at the examination with appropriate identification. The applicant must have this official admission letter from the Code Enforcement Officer Registration Program in order to schedule to take the examination. The applicant will contact Pearson VUE and make a reservation for the location where she/he chooses to take the exam.
Application fee - Code Enforcement Officer: $111 - Payable to the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) - must accompany the application for registration.
Application fee - Code Enforcement Officer in Training (1 year registration): $57 - Payable to the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) - must accompany the application for registration.
Examination fee: $50 - Payable to "Pearson VUE" in advance. YOU WILL NOT BE ADMITTED TO THE EXAMINATION WITHOUT PRIOR APPROVAL FROM DSHS.
*What are the requirements for becoming a Code Enforcement Officer?
An applicant must have a GED or high school diploma or college transcript, at least one (1) year (not less than 32 hours per week) or more of experience in the field of code enforcement, successfully complete the Basic Code Enforcement Officer Training, and pass the written examination with a score of 72%.
*What if an applicant has less than one year of experience but would still like to be a Code Enforcement Officer?
An applicant would qualify as a Code Enforcement Officer in Training because he/she has less than one (1) year of experience or no experience at all. An applicant must have a GED or high school diploma or college transcript, be supervised by a registered Code Enforcement Officer, successfully complete the Basic Code Enforcement Officer Training offered by TEEX, and pass the written examination required for registration with at least a score of 72%.