Contact Lens Dispensing Permit Program Renew Your Permit - Requirements

Loading...


Each  contact lens permit holder must submit a renewal form and appropriate fee postmarked on or before his/her expiration date in order to renew a registration. No continuing education is required to renew a permit.

The fees to renew a contact lens dispensing permit for a two year term are as follows:

  • $106 for an optician who has registered with the department under the Opticians' Registry Act, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 352

  • $158 for an optician who has not registered with the department under the Opticians' Registry Act, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 352

  • $620 for a business entity [Note: the Contact Lens Prescription Act allows business entities with at least 10 locations to obtain a single permit for the entity & its employees.]

Fees for late renewals are as follows:

  • A permit that has been expired for 90 days or less may be renewed by paying a fee that is equal to one and one-half times the normally required permit renewal fee.

  • A permit that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year may be renewed by paying a fee that is equal to two times the normally required permit renewal fee.

  • A permit that has been expired for one year or more may not be renewed. A new permit may be obtained by complying with requirements and procedures for an original permit.

Please note that this means, for two year renewals, that the renewal fee is doubled, but the late fee is still based on the one year renewal fee.

  • Loading...
Last updated February 23, 2011
  • Loading...
    Contact Lens Dispensing Permit Program