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Cosmetology salons may operate provided they can ensure at least 6 feet social distancing between operating 
work stations.  All employees and customers must wear a face covering (over the nose and mouth) 
wherever it is not feasible to maintain six feet of social distancing from another individual not in the same 
household. Because of the proximity between individuals in these facilities, stringent compliance with these 
protocols is strongly recommended. 

The following are the minimum recommended health protocols for cosmetology salons choosing to operate in 
Texas.  Cosmetology salons may adopt additional protocols consistent with their specific needs and circumstances 
to help protect the health and safety of all employees, independent contractors, and customers. 

The virus that causes COVID-19 can be spread to others by infected persons who have few or no symptoms.  Even 
if an infected person is only mildly ill, the people they spread it to may become seriously ill or even die, especially if 
that person is 65 or older with pre-existing health conditions that place them at higher risk.  Because of the hidden 
nature of this threat, everyone should rigorously follow the practices specified in these protocols, all of which 
facilitate a safe and measured reopening of Texas.  The virus that causes COVID-19 is still circulating in our 
communities.  We should continue to observe practices that protect everyone, including those who are most 
vulnerable. 

Please note, public health guidance cannot anticipate every unique situation.  Cosmetology salons should stay 
informed and take actions based on common sense and wise judgment that will protect health and support 
economic revitalization.  Cosmetology salons should also be mindful of federal and state employment and 
disability laws, workplace safety standards, and accessibility standards to address the needs of both workers and 
customers. 

Getting cosmetology salon, employees, and contractors ready to open: 

 Start by first offering less complex and time-consuming services such as haircutting services. 

 Notify employees and contractors of all COVID-19 processes and procedures and require them to sign 
a statement acknowledging they understand and will adhere to the guidelines. 

 Screen employees and contractors before coming into the cosmetology salon:  

 Send home any employee or contractor who has any of the following new or worsening signs or 
symptoms of possible COVID-19: 

- Cough
- Shortness of breath or difficulty

breathing
- Chills
- Repeated shaking with chills
- Muscle pain
- Headache

- Sore throat
- Loss of taste or smell
- Diarrhea
- Feeling feverish or a measured temperature

greater than or equal to 100.0 degrees
Fahrenheit

- Known close contact with a person who is lab
confirmed to have COVID-19

 Do not allow employees or contractors with new or worsening signs or symptoms listed above to 
return to work until: 
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- In the case of an employee or contractor who was diagnosed with COVID-19, the individual 
may return to work when all three of the following criteria are met:  at least 3 days (72 
hours) have passed since recovery (resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing 
medications); and the individual has improvement in symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of 
breath); and at least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared; or 

- In the case of an employee or contractor who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and 
does not get evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, the individual is 
assumed to have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to work until the individual 
has completed the same three-step criteria listed above;  or 

- If the employee or contractor has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and wants to return to 
work before completing the above self-isolation period, the individual must obtain a medical 
professional’s note clearing the individual for return based on an alternative diagnosis. 

 Do not allow an employee or contractor with known close contact to a person who is lab-
confirmed to have COVID-19 to return to work until the end of the 14 day self-quarantine period 
from the last date of exposure (with an exception granted for health care workers and critical 
infrastructure workers).  

 Consider implementing a similar policy for clients. 

 For temperature checks, the preferred method is a no-contact thermometer, such as a forehead 
thermometer, if possible. 

 Do not use a contact thermometer on multiple persons without disposable guards or disinfection 
between persons. 

 Provide resources and a work environment that promote personal hygiene. For example, provide 
tissues, hand soap, alcohol-based hand sanitizers containing at least 60 percent alcohol, disinfectants, 
and disposable towels for licensees to clean their work surfaces. 

 Disinfectants must come from this list:  https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-
disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2 

 Provide a place to wash hands with both hot and cold water with hand soap, disposable towels, and a 
no-touch trash can. 

 

Before an appointment: 

 Appointments should be scheduled to limit the amount of people in the salon. 

 Walk-in clients should wait either in their own cars or outside with at least six feet separation between 
individuals. 

 Do not allow clients to bring extra people to the appointment, such as children.  
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 Only schedule the number of clients that will allow for social distancing of at least six feet from others. 
 A sign should be posted at the entrance to the salon with a phone number that clients should call to 

schedule an appointment when they arrive outside the salon. 
 Only bring clients into the building when the licensee is ready for them, to eliminate anyone needing 

to spend any time in the lobby or waiting area. 
 Remove all unnecessary items such as magazines from the lobby or waiting area. 

 Contactless payment is encouraged.  Where not available, contact should be minimized. 
 Signs should be posted at each entrance and eye-level at stations notifying clients that people with 

symptoms of COVID-19 or who have recently been exposed to someone with symptoms must 
reschedule their appointment. 

 Do not provide services to a client if you have reason to believe that they are sick or have a contagious 
condition. 

 If possible, provide face coverings for clients or ask them to wear one if services can be provided with 
it on. 

 

Once inside the hair salon: 

 Do not let clients touch/handle retail supplies. 
 Require all clients to wash their hands upon entering the salon and before each treatment. 
 Take measures to ensure that clients do not interact with each other in the salon. 
 Face masks or fabric face coverings must always be worn by employers, employees, contractors, and 

clients while inside the salon/shop, even if individuals are practicing social distancing, except when 
temporary removal is necessary to receive a service. 

 Employees should be instructed to understand that young children and persons who are unable 
to adjust or remove face coverings should not be regarded as suitable candidates for wearing 
face coverings.  The decision is up to the individual or their parent, guardian or attendant. 

 Clients receiving services for which a mask may not be worn should wear a mask or face covering 
before and after they receive the service. 

 

Providing services: 

 If gloves cannot be worn for a service, then hands must be washed with soap and water prior to 
providing services. Hands must be washed for a minimum of 20 seconds. 

 If at any time an employee or contractor touches their face, nose, eyes, cell phone, door, credit card 
machine or any surface they have not sanitized, they must immediately change their gloves or rewash 
hands with soap and water. 

 Use disposable supplies to keep from having to handle and disinfect multi-use supplies. 
 Use disposable towels when possible and dispose of them after use.  

Revised 7/3/2020



 

 

COSMETOLOGY/HAIR SALONS: Page 4 of 4 
 

Continue to service clients with the cleaning and sanitation you already practice: 

 If gloves are worn, they must be removed and properly disposed of immediately upon completion of the 
service. 

 All surfaces must be wiped down and sanitized between use including computers, landline phones, etc. 

 Full sanitization of workstations, shampoo bowls, chairs, etc., must occur after each client. This includes 
a complete wipe down with disinfectant cleaners or wipes of all surfaces touched and products used. 

 Multi-use equipment and tools must be cleaned and disinfected before use on each client. 

 Single-use equipment and tools must be discarded after use on a single client. 

 Electrical equipment that cannot be immersed in liquid shall be wiped clean and disinfected before use 
on each client. 

 All clean and disinfected tools and materials shall be stored in a clean, dry, debris free environment 
when not in use. 

 Clean and disinfected tools and materials must be stored separate from soiled tools and materials. 
Ultraviolet electrical sanitizers are acceptable for use as a dry storage container. Non-cosmetology or 
barbering related supplies must be stored in separate drawers or locations. 

 Shampoo bowls and manicure tables shall be disinfected prior to use for each client. 

 Floors shall be thoroughly cleaned each day.  Hair cuttings must be swept up and deposited in a closed 
receptacle.  Cosmetologists need to sweep up after each haircut. 

 All trash containers must be emptied daily and kept clean by washing or using plastic liners. 

 Non-disposable towels used during services must be immediately removed and placed in a disposable 
laundry receptacle (such as a bag that is discarded after use) at the conclusion of the service. 

 If the salon uses a laundry basket or reusable bag, it must be sanitized between uses and should never 
be used for clean towels/capes. 

 Towels must be washed in hot water and chlorine bleach and only clean towels shall be used on clients. 

 Clean towels should only be handled by someone who has cleaned their hands immediately before 
touching the towels or someone who has a fresh pair of gloves. 

 All on-site laundry rooms or laundry storage rooms must be fully sanitized daily. 
 

Additional items: 

 If an employee or contractor tests positive for COVID-19, immediately report that to the local health 
authority and provide notification to employees, contractors, and clients. The notification may be 
made via phone call, e-mail, or text. The notification to the local health authority and to employees, 
contractors, and clients must occur no later than 24 hours of receiving information of a positive test 
result.  
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