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As outlined in Governor Abbott’s executive order GA-18, retailers may operate retail for pickup, delivery
by mail, and delivery to the customer’s doorstep.

In accordance with Governor Abbott’s executive order GA-18, the following are the minimum recommended
health protocols for all retailers choosing to operate for pickup, delivery by mail, and delivery to go in Texas.
Retailers may adopt additional protocols consistent with their specific needs and circumstances to help
protect the health and safety of all employees and customers.

The virus that causes COVID-19 can be spread to others by infected persons who have few or no symptoms.
Even if an infected person is only mildly ill, the people they spread it to may become seriously ill or even die,
especially if that person is 65 or older with pre-existing health conditions that place them at higher risk.
Because of the hidden nature of this threat, everyone should rigorously follow the practices specified in these
protocols, all of which facilitate a safe and measured reopening of Texas. The virus that causes COVID-19 is
still circulating in our communities. We should continue to observe practices that protect everyone, including
those who are most vulnerable.

Please note, public health guidance cannot anticipate every unique situation. Retailers should stay informed
and take actions based on common sense and wise judgment that will protect health and support economic
revitalization. Retailers should also be mindful of federal and state employment laws and workplace safety
standards.

Health protocols for serving your customers:

D Contactless payment is encouraged. Where not available, contact should be minimized.
D To minimize physical contact with the customer, purchased items should be delivered:
D By the employee to the backseat or trunk of the customer’s vehicle whenever possible;

D By an employee or third-party carrier to the customer’s doorstep; or

D By mail.
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Health protocols for your retail employees:

D Train all employees on appropriate cleaning and disinfection, hand hygiene, and respiratory etiquette.
D Screen employees before coming into the retailer:
D Send home any employee who has any of the following new or worsening signs or symptoms of
possible COVID-19:
- Cough

— Shortness of breath or difficulty
breathing

- Chills
- Repeated shaking with chills
— Muscle pain
- Headache
- Sore throat
- Loss of taste or smell
- Diarrhea

- Feeling feverish or a measured temperature
greater than or equal to 100.0 degrees
Fahrenheit

- Known close contact with a person who is lab
confirmed to have COVID-19
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|:| Do not allow employees with the new or worsening signs or symptoms listed above to
return to work until:

- In the case of an employee who was diagnosed with COVID-19, the individual may
return to work when all three of the following criteria are met: at least 3 days (72
hours) have passed since recovery (resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing
medications); and the individual has improvement in respiratory symptoms (e.g., cough,
shortness of breath); and at least 7 days have passed since symptoms first appeared; or

- In the case of an employee who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and does not get
evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, the individual is assumed to
have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to work until the individual has
completed the same three-step criteria listed above; or

- If the employee has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and wants to return to work
before completing the above self-isolation period, the individual must obtain a medical
professional’s note clearing the individual for return based on an alternative diagnosis.

D Do not allow an employee with known close contact to a person who is lab-confirmed to
have COVID-19 to return to work until the end of the 14 day self-quarantine period from the
last date of exposure (with an exception granted for healthcare workers and critical
infrastructure workers).

Have employees wash or sanitize their hands upon entering the retailer.

Have employees maintain at least 6 feet separation from other individuals. If such distancing is
not feasible, other measures such as face covering, hand hygiene, cough etiquette, cleanliness,
and sanitation should be rigorously practiced.

If an employer provides a meal for employees, employers are recommended to have the meal
individually packed for each employee.

Consistent with the actions taken by many retailers across the state, consider having all
employees wear cloth face coverings (over the nose and mouth). If available, employees should
consider wearing non-medical grade face masks.

Health protocols for your retail facilities:

[
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Regularly and frequently clean and disinfect any regularly touched surfaces, such as doorknobs,
tables, chairs, and restrooms.

Disinfect any items that come into contact with customers.

Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available to
employees and customers.

Place readily visible signage at the retailer to remind everyone of best hygiene practices.



