Acceptance of CE approved by other accrediting agencies


EMS certificants may use CE approved by outside agencies recognized by the Office as having the authority to accredit CE. Below is a list of recognized accrediting agencies. Agencies not listed may be recognized after a review by the Education Program.

Currently Recognized CE Accrediting Agencies

  • American Academy of Family Physicians

  • American Association for Respiratory Care(AARC)/Texas Society for Respiratory Care(TSRC)

  • American Association of Critical Care Nurses

  • American Association of Nurse Anesthetists

  • American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)

  • American College of Nurse Midwives

  • American Nurses Credentializing Center (ANCC)/American Nurses Association

  • CAPCE (Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education) – formerly CECBEMS (Continuing Education Coordinator Board for Emergency Medical Services)

  • National Association of EMS Educators

  • National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners
  • National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA)
  • National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians
  • State EMS offices
  • Texas Board of Medical Examiners
  • Texas Board of Nursing Examiners
  • Texas Department of Public Safety, Division of Emergency Management
  • Texas Nurses Association
Policy * - A

*No number assigned
This policy was originally approved by Gene Weatherall, Bureau Chief, on February 1, 1995.  It has been updated to include additional accrediting agencies.

Email comments or questions


Last updated March 5, 2021