Trauma Systems Committee State EMS-Trauma Registry Workgroup


The workgroup will serve in an advisory and liaison role between the state EMS/Trauma Registry, GETAC and stakeholders. The workgroup’s goal is to enhance the data available to ensure an effective, accountable, reliable and data-driven EMS, trauma and acute care system for Texas.


The workgroup will be co-chaired by a representative from DSHS’s Office of EMS/Trauma System Coordination, and a representative from DSHS’s Environmental Epidemiology and Disease Registries Section, and the chair of the Trauma Systems Committee. One representative will be appointed by each of the following groups: each GETAC committee; the Regional Advisory Council Chairs; the Texas Trauma Coordinators Forum; and the Texas EMS, Trauma, and Acute Care Foundation. Two at-large representatives will be chosen, with an emphasis on prior registry experience.

Short-term goals

  • Foster open communication during the implementation phases of the state registry
  • Promote initiatives that assist in data management
  • Provide registry developers with feedback regarding desirable enhancements to the state EMS/Trauma Registry

Long-term goals

  • Assist in identifying data sets to be utilized in the further development, enhancement and maturation of the state EMS/trauma registry and the GETAC committee initiatives
  • Promote processes for data capture and validation, including “tool kits” to facilitate successful registry use among entities in need of assistance
  • Identify educational programs needed to assist entities as registry participation develops and grows



Trauma Registry Work Group Initial Introductory Meeting  


Participant Expectations


Workgroup Communication Form

Meeting Minutes- May 8, 2013 PDF



Workgroup contacts

Air Medical Committee

Cardiac Care Committee

Disaster/Emergency Preparedness Committee

Traci Fox, RN, LP
Air Medical Supervisor
PHI Air Medical
1503 Stonetree Drive
Killeen, Texas 76543
254-680-3644 (office)

Catherine Bissell, RN
Regional Clinical Development Coordinator
Houston, TX
281/822-4444 x112


Education Committee

EMS Committee

Injury Prevention Committee

John William Creech, M.Ed, LP
EMS Program Director
razosport College
Lake Jackson, TX

Brian Petrilla, EMT-P
Deputy Chief
Fort Bend County EMS
Rosenburg, TX


Courtney Edwards, RN
Trauma Outreach Education,
Injury Prevention,
Research Coordinator
Parkland Health & Hospital System
Dallas, TX

Medical Directors Committee

Pediatrics Committee

Stroke Committee

Jeffrey Beeson, DO, FACEP, EMT-P
Medical Director
Acadian Ambulance
4100 Ed Bluestein Blvd. Suite 100
Austin, TX 78721
Phone: 512/929-1661

Jorge Sainz, MD
Medical Director-Pediatric ICU
El Paso Children’s Hospital
El Paso, TX

Warren Porter, MS, BA, LP
Director, Clinical Education
South Region American Medical Response
3701 New York Avenue, Suite 140
Arlington, Texas 76014
Phone: 682-227-6059

Trauma Systems Committee

Regional Advisory Council Chairs


Jorie Klein, RN, DON; Co- chair
Parkland Health & Hospital System
Dallas, TX

Kelly Stowell, RN, CEN, LP
Scott & White Memorial Hospital
Chair, RAC L
Belton, TX
Brenda Putz, RN,
Texas EMS,Trauma
& Acute Care Foundation
Austin, TX

DSHS Epidemiology Section

DSHS Trauma Systems Group

DSHS Office of EMS/Trauma Systems Coordination

Dan Dao, MPH
Team Lead
PO Box 149347, MC1964
Austin, TX 78714

Robert Friedrich
RAC/Trauma Systems
PO Box 149347, MC 1876
Austin, TX 78714
512/834-6700, x2706

Jane G. Guerrero, RN, Co-Chair
PO Box 149347, MC 1876
Austin, TX 78714

Trauma Registry Solutions Workgroup

Texas Trauma Coordinators Forum


Mary Frost, BSN, RN
Trauma Director
Conroe Regional Medical Center
504 Medical Center Drive
Conroe, TX 77304
(936) 539-1111

Garrett Hall, CSTR
Trauma Registrar
Texas Health Presbyterian Dallas
8200 Walnut Hill Lane
Dallas, Texas 75231

Preston Love
Director, Clinical Informatics Division
Southwest Texas RAC
San Antonio, TX



Irene Lopez, CSTR
Trauma Registry Manager
Seton Brackenridge
Austin, TX

Last updated July 21, 2020