Trauma System Development

Sign up for e-mail updates


In 1989, House Bill 18 was passed during the 71st Legislature. The purpose of the bill was to develop an emergency medical services (EMS) and trauma care system. This allowed for the creation of trauma service areas (TSAs), formed regional advisory councils (RACs), and outlined the trauma facility designation process. The trauma designation rules went into effect on December 26, 2006. 

The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) has the authority to designate facilities. The Office of EMS/Trauma Systems Section of DSHS works with hospitals and Regional Advisory Councils (RACs) to:

  • Develop facility designation protocols,
  • Develop policies, and
  • Designate facilities in the state.

*NEW* DSHS Designation Program: Facility Update Form

Use our online verification system to verify your current contact information (instructions).


Quick Menu


Trauma System Development

Overview

Survey Organizations

Related Programs 

Councils


Trauma Facility Designation

Documents

Fees

The non-refundable trauma application fees for a three-year designation period are as follows:

  • Level I trauma facility application fee will be no more than $10 per licensed bed with an upper limit of $5,000.00 and a lower limit of $4,000.00.
  • Level II trauma facility application fee will be no more than $10 per licensed bed with an upper limit of $5,000.00 and a lower limit of $4,000.00.
  • Level III trauma facility application fee will be no more than $10 per licensed bed with an upper limit of $2,500.00 and a lower limit of $1,500.00.
  • Level IV trauma facility application fee will be no more than $10 per licensed bed with an upper limit of $1,000.00 and a lower limit of $500.00.

Facilities

Map

Resources


Get In Touch

By Email

DSHS.EMS-TRAUMA@dshs.texas.gov

By Mail

Send mail correspondence to:
Person's name 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
EMS/Trauma Systems 
Attn: Trauma Designation Program 
PO Box 149347 MC 1876
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Staff Contacts

For  technical difficulties information, process or rule clarification: 
Designation Program Manager  
Elizabeth Stevenson, R.N. – (512) 834-6794
Elizabeth.Stevenson@dshs.texas.gov 

Designation Program Coordinator 
Audrey Green, R.N. – (512) 605-9108
Audrey.Green@dshs.texas.gov

For RAC and Funding questions, call or email:
Josh Finholt  – (512) ) 201-0698
Joshua.Finholt@dshs.texas.gov


   

Last updated November 4, 2022