Stroke System Development

Sign up for e-mail updates

In 2005, the 79 th Legislature passed Senate Bill 330 with the intent to construct an emergency treatment system in the state so that stroke victims may be quickly identified, transported, and treated in appropriate stroke treatment facilities. To this end, the Texas Department of State Health Services was given the authority to designate stroke centers in the state of Texas. The rule implementing this authority will be effective August 30, 2009. The Office of EMS/Trauma Systems Group works with hospitals and RACs to develop stroke facility designation, protocols, policies, and to designate stroke facilities in the state.


DSHS Virtual Survey Guidelines

Quick Menu

Stroke System Development



Stroke Facility Designation

The Brain Attack Coalition (BAC) recommendations are the department-approved national stroke standard requirements for Comprehensive and Primary Stroke Center designation per Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §157.133. The BAC requirements are located at:



The non-refundable stroke application fees for a stroke designation period are as follows:

  • Level I stroke facility application fee is $100.00.
  • Level II stroke facility application fee is $100.00.
  • Level III stroke facility application fee is $100.00.




For the purposes of Stroke Facility designation, DSHS will accept certifications or survey results from these recognized agencies:


Contact Us

By email

By mail

Send mail correspondence to:
Person's name

Texas Department of State Health Services
EMS/Trauma Systems 
Attn: Stroke Designation Program 
PO Box 149347 MC 1876
Austin, Texas 78714-9347

Staff Contacts

For technical difficulties information,  process or rule clarification:
Designation Program Manager  
Elizabeth Stevenson, R.N.- (512) 834-6794   



Last updated January 13, 2022