• Contact Us

    Texas Heart Disease and Stroke Program
    Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section
    MC 1945
    PO Box 149347
    Austin, TX 78714-9347

    Phone: (512) 776-7111

    Email Comments or Questions

About the Council


During the 76th session of the Texas Legislature, lawmakers passed House Bill 2085, which included the creation of the Texas Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke.

Activities of the Council include the following:

  • developing an effective and resource-efficient plan,
  • conducting health education, public awareness, and community outreach,
  • improving access to treatment,
  • coordinating activities among agencies within the state,
  • developing a database of recommendations for treatment and care, and
  • collecting and analyzing information related to CVD 

Pursuant to Chapter 93 of Texas' Health and Safety Code, Texas Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke Council members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. They serve staggered six-year terms, with the terms of four members expiring February 1 of each odd-numbered year. A nonvoting member representing a state agency serves at the will of the appointing agency.

Visit the Governor's website for more information regarding appointments. 

Council Composition

(A)  a licensed physician with a specialization in cardiology;
(B)  a licensed physician with a specialization in neurology to treat stroke;
(C)  a licensed physician employed in a primary care setting;
(D)  a registered nurse with a specialization in quality improvement practices for cardiovascular disease and stroke;
(E)  a registered and licensed dietitian;
(F)  two persons with experience and training in public health policy, research, or practice;
(G)  two consumer members, with special consideration given to persons actively participating in the Texas affiliates of the American Heart Association or American Stroke Association, managed care, or hospital or rehabilitation settings; and
(H)  two members from the general public that have or care for persons with cardiovascular disease or stroke; and
(I)  one nonvoting member representing each of the state agencies that oversee: health services; assistive and rehabilitative services; and aging and disability services.

Council Members

Elected Members

Suzanne Hildebrand, Chair
Public Member

Elie R. Balesh, M.D.
Consumer Member

Janet Hewlett, RD, LD
Licensed Dietitian

Stanley M. Duchman, M.D.
Licensed Physician in Cardiology

Samantha Kersey
Public Member

Sherron D. Meeks, RN, PhD 
Registered Nurse

J. Neal Rutledge, M.D. 
Licensed Physician in Stroke 

Shilpa Shamapant
Consumer Member 

Harry "Kyle" Sheets, M.D.
Licensed Physician in Primary Care

E’Loria Simon-Campbell, PhD
Public Health Policy, Research Practice Member

Maricella "Marcie" Gonzalez Wilson, RN
Public Health

Non-Voting Agency Representatives

Karen Brajcki
Texas Workforce Commission

Kelly Fegan-Bohn, MD, MPH, MA
Medical Director, Community Health Improvement Division 
Department of State Health Services

Chelsea Couch, CHES
Texercise Program Coordinator 
Health and Human Services Commission

Last updated March 4, 2021