Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists Apply for a New License - Requirements

Loading...

Applicants who are currently licensed in another state or were previously licensed in any state, including Texas, must meet the current requirements for licensure.  The information on this page is not a substitute for reading and following the complete rules and law related to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists.  Please read the rules carefully to ensure that you qualify for licensure, as all fees submitted to the board are non-refundable.

Academic Requirements for Licensure §801.112, §801.113, & §801.114
In order to become licensed as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) or Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFT Associate) in Texas, a person must demonstrate having met one of the following categories of qualifying academic achievement.

  • a master’s degree or doctorate degree in marriage and family therapy from an institution or program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE)
  • a master’s degree or doctorate degree in marriage and family therapy from an institution or program accredited by accrediting bodies that are recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), but which are not accredited by COAMFTE, provided that the practicum is at least 9 credit hours or 12 months. If the practicum is not at least 9 credit hours or 12 months an applicant may be approved to take the licensing examination and may be issued an associate license upon successfully passing the examination. Prior to receiving a license as a marriage and family therapist, the applicant shall complete the pre-graduation practicum deficit in addition to the post-graduate supervised experience requirements consistent with the requirements in §801.142
  • a master’s degree or doctorate degree in a related mental health field with a planned course of study in marriage and family therapy as described in 801.113(d) and (e) with minimum course content as described in §801.114. NOTE: If applying under this section, FORM I must be completed and submitted by the applicant.

Licensing Examination Required for Licensure §801.174
In order to become licensed as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) or Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFT Associate) in Texas, a person must have passed the national licensing examination available through the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB).  More information on the examination is available on the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards' website at: http://www.amftrb.org/.

  • A person who has already passed the AMFTRB national licensing examination is not required to re-take the licensing examination.
  • A person who is currently licensed in the state of California and has passed the California state licensing examination is considered to have met the examination requirement. Verification of passage of the California state licensing examination must be submitted from the state of California.
  • A person who is currently licensed in another jurisdiction who was “grandfathered,” or is licensed without having passed the national (or California) licensing examination must pass the examination in order to gain a license in Texas, except as noted in the Occupations Code, Chapter 502.
  • A person who has not previously passed the AMFTRB national licensing examination or the state of California state licensing examination must pass the AMFTRB national licensing examination.

Applying for the National Licensing Exam & Licensure as a LMFT Associate
Please submit the following documents to the board. An application that is not completed one year past the date the application is opened is void.  It is your responsibility to follow-up with the board if written notice of approval is not received within six weeks.   

    1. Submit an application for licensure (Form A) to the board with the $47 application fee.  (After passing the national licensing exam, you will then need to submit an additional $90 initial Associate license fee.)
    2. Submit proof of passing the Jurisprudence Exam.  Please select the "Jurisprudence Exam" tab on the left side of your screen for more information.  
    3. Submit the MFT Examination Security Information Acknowledgement Form (Form VII) with a copy of your current photo ID.  If you have a disability requiring accommodations for the licensing examination, please submit the Request for Disability Accommodation for Licensing Examination Form along with a written statement from a professional who is familiar with your disability and requested accommodation. 
    4. Submit original college transcripts. A person who is enrolled in the last semester of study in one of the following types of programs is eligible to take the national licensing examination.  If you are currently enrolled in your last semester, you will need to submit a letter from the university showing that you are currently enrolled, when you are expected to complete the course of study, and the coursework you will need to complete in order to graduate as planned.  If you submit a transcript, your transcript must verify current enrollment.   You must send a final transcript verifying your date of graduation and completion of your internship/practicum. 

    • a master’s degree or doctorate degree program in marriage and family therapy from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE)
    • a master’s degree or doctorate degree program in marriage and family therapy from an institution accredited by accrediting bodies that are recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), but which are not accredited by COAMFTE.
    • a master’s degree or doctorate degree program in a related mental health field with a planned course of study in marriage and family therapy as described in 801.113(d) and (e) with minimum course content as described in §801.114. NOTE: If applying under this section, FORM I must be completed and submitted by the applicant.  

    5. Submit the Supervised Clinical Practicum Supervision and Experience Verification Form (Form VI) to document your practicum.
    6. Submit a Supervisory Agreement Form (Form III). This form is required for the issuance of an Associate license and must be approved by the board in order to practice as a LMFT Associate in Texas.  You may want to submit this form after successfully passing the national licensing exam.     

Licensure as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate §801.142
After successfully completing the examination and graduation, you will then be eligible for an Associate license. As a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Associate (LMFT Associate), you are authorized by your license to use the title and engage in the practice of Marriage and Family Therapy only under the supervision of a board-approved supervisor with a board-approved Supervisory Agreement Form (Form III).  There must be a separate Supervisory Agreement Form for each practicing location, and the Supervisory Agreement Form must be submitted to the board within 60 days of commencing supervised experience and supervision.  The Supervisory Agreement Form must include a copy of the board-approved supervisor's current licensure wallet card.

It is the responsibility of the LMFT Associate to follow-up with the board if written notice of approval for each submitted Supervisory Agreement Form is not received within eight weeks.  If a written notification of approval, indicating the board-approved supervisor, the board-approved location of practice, and the board-approved start date of supervision, is not sent by the board, the agreement form is not approved.  Experience accrued without a board-approved Supervisory Agreement Form on file will not be accepted.  For more information, please carefully review the Supervisory Agreement Form found on the "Applications and Forms" page.  The initial LMFT Associate license is issued for a minimum of 24 months and may be renewed biennially for a period of 72 months (6 years). An expired license may be renewed for up to one year by paying the renewal fee and applicable late fees. A license that has expired for more than one year is no longer renewable.  It is highly recommended that you notify the board in writing if you will be taking a leave of absence from your practice for 30 days or more, for any reason, including medical/maternity leave. 

You must renew your LMFT Associate license at least once in order to meet the 24 month minimum requirement.  The MFT Renewal Application Form (Form B) is available on the "Applications and Forms" page.  The renewal fee is $136.  You are also required to complete 15 hours of continuing education during each renewal period.  For more information on continuing education requirements, please select the "General Information" link found under the "Continuing Education" tab on the left side of your screen.       

In order to attain full licensure as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, a LMFT Associate must complete a minimum of 2 years of full time supervised work experience providing marriage and family therapy services. This work experience must include at least 3,000 hours of board-approved, supervised marriage and family therapy practice experience. Of the 3,000 hours, at least 1,500 hours must be in direct clinical services.  Of the 1,500 hours in direct clinical services, 750 hours must be provided to couples or families. The remaining 1,500 hours may come from either direct clinical services or related experiences. Of the 3,000 hours, up to 500 hours of supervised clinical experience may be transferred from a COAMFTE accredited doctoral program (Please see Form VI).      

In order to attain full licensure as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, a LMFT Associate must also complete 200 hours of supervision. Of the 200 hours, 100 hours must be individual supervision. Up to 100 of the 200 hours of the required supervision hours may be credited from supervision accrued during a supervised clinical practicum in a Marriage and Family Therapy program (Please see Form VI). At least 50 hours of the post-graduate supervision must be individual supervision. 

At the end of the supervised clinical experience, the MFT Licensed Supervised Experience Verification Form (Form V) must be submitted to the board for each board-approved practicing location.       

Licensure as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
After successfully completing the required supervised marriage and family therapy experience and supervision, a LMFT Associate will then be eligible for a full license as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT).  To upgrade your license, submit the MFT Application for Licensure/Upgrade Form (Form A) to the board with the $90 initial LMFT license fee.  You must also complete the Jurisprudence Exam.  Additional documentation may be required (continuing education documentation).  As a LMFT, you are authorized by your license to use the title and engage in the practice of Marriage and Family Therapy without supervision.  The renewal date of your license will be the last day of your birth month.  The initial LMFT license will be issued for a period of 13 to 24 months, depending on your birth month.  Subsequent renewal periods will be for 2 years.  A person may not practice as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist with an expired license. An expired license may be renewed for up to one year past the expiration date by paying the renewal fee and applicable late fees. A license that has expired for more than one year is no longer renewable.

As a LMFT, you are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education during each renewal period.  For more information on continuing education requirements, please select the "General Information" link found under the "Continuing Education" tab on the left side of your screen. 

After a minimum of three years of licensure as a LMFT with a master's degree, or one year of licensure with a doctoral degree, a licensee may apply for recognition as a board-approved supervisor (Form D). Other requirements to be a supervisor are: (1) successful completion of a one-semester graduate course in marriage and family therapy supervision from an accredited institution; or a 40-hour continuing education course in clinical supervision offered by a board-approved provider; and (2) a master's degree and at least 3,000 hours of practice of marriage and family therapy over a minimum of three years as a licensed marriage and family therapist, or a doctoral degree recognized by the board and at least 1,000 hours of practice of marriage and family therapy over a minimum of one year as a licensed marriage and family therapist. In lieu of meeting the qualifications noted, a person is an acceptable supervisor if the person is licensed by the board and has been designated as an approved supervisor or supervisor candidate by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT). The designation by AAMFT must have occurred before the person provides any supervision.

Licensure by Endorsement §801.115
A person seeking licensure by endorsement is licensed as a Marriage and Family Therapist in another state or jurisdiction and is seeking licensure in Texas.  You must meet the academic, supervised experience, and supervision requirements for licensure in Texas. Often applicants from other states must complete additional coursework and supervised experience.  The board may accept, deny, or grant partial credit for requirements completed in another jurisdiction.  Only an applicant who is currently licensed and in good standing with a Marriage and Family Therapist licensing board in another state or jurisdiction may be eligible to demonstrate having met some or all licensing requirements by endorsement.  Please read section §801.115 of the rules for more information.  In order to become licensed as a Marriage and Family Therapist in Texas, a person must have passed the national licensing examination available through the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB).  If you are requesting that the Texas board consider that you have passed the national (or California) licensing examination and/or consider the supervision that you completed in that jurisdiction toward licensure as a LMFT in Texas, you must contact that licensing board and request that verification be sent to the Texas board.

  • You will need to submit original college transcripts.  
  • You will need to submit an application for licensure (Form A).
  • You will need to submit the $47 application fee (An additional $90 initial LMFT license fee will be required if the board determines that you meet the requirements for LMFT licensure).
  • You will need to submit proof of completion of the Jurisprudence Exam.  
  • You will need to submit verification of licensure from the other state licensing board, submit proof of completion of your supervision and supervised clinical experience hours from the other state licensing board, submit complaints/disciplinary actions history from the other state licensing board, and submit your national licensing exam scores.  We provide Form II to assist in this process; however, we accept verification on other boards' forms, as well. Most of Form II should be completed by the other state licensing board and submitted to the Texas board.  

Back to Top

  

  • Loading...
Last updated March 31, 2014
  • Loading...
    Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists