Newborn Screening Advisory Committee



The Newborn Screening Advisory Committee advises the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) on strategic planning, policy, rules and services related to newborn screening and additional newborn screening tests. The Commissioner of DSHS appoints members of the committee.


The Newborn Screening Advisory Committee was mandated by House Bill (HB) 1795, 81st Texas Legislature (2009), relating to newborn screening and the creation of the Newborn Screening Advisory Committee. HB 1795 is also known as “Greyson’s Law” in memory of Greyson Morris.

The committee includes eleven members comprised of: 

  • At least four physicians licensed to practice medicine in the state of Texas, including at least two physicians specializing in neonatal-perinatal medicine,
  • At least two hospital representatives,
  • At least two persons who have family members affected by a condition for which newborn screening is or may be required, and
  • At least two health care providers (persons) who are involved in the delivery of newborn screening services, follow-up, or treatment in the state.

Newborn Screening Advisory Committee Members

View committee member information including membership appointments, terms, and a list of current members.

Committee Business

View committee business including bylaws and meeting information.

Frequently Asked Questions

View frequently asked questions about the advisory committee.


New Members Appointed to Newborn Screening Advisory Committee 

The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) announces the appointment of three members to the Newborn Screening Advisory Committee by DSHS Commissioner Kirk Cole. Dr. Michael E. Speer was reappointed as a physician representative who specializes in neonatal medicine, and Dr. Nancy L. Beck was reappointed as a healthcare provider representative. Ms. Benna Timperlake was appointed as an individual with a family member affected by a condition. Please visit the Newborn Screening Advisory Committee Members page for more details.

All meeting details can be found on the Newborn Screening Advisory Committee Business page.

For more information

Contact Beth Rider, committee support or call 512-776-3386.

Last updated July 22, 2015