DSHS Organizational Chart

Description |    PDF Version (for printing)
Administrative Contact List 

DSHS Organizational Chart

DSHS Description 

HHS Executive Commissioner

Office of the Commissioner

John Hellerstedt, MD, Commissioner of Public Health


  • Jennifer Sims, Deputy Commissioner
  • Manda Hall, MD, Community Health Improvement, Associate Commissioner
  • David Gruber, Regional & Local Health Operations, Associate Commissioner
  • Stephen Pahl, Consumer Protection, Associate Commissioner 
  • Imelda Garcia, MPH, Laboratory & Infectious Disease Services, Associate Commissioner

Office of the Deputy Commissioner

Jennifer Sims, Deputy Commissioner

HHSC Liaisons

  • Barbara Klein,JD, EMPL,  DSHS General Counsel
  • Ricardo Blanco, HHS Information Resources Manager


  • Donna Sheppard, Chief Financial Officer
  • Lara Lamprecht, DrPH, Assistant Deputy Commissioner
  • Roger Faske, Program Operations, Interim Associate Commissioner
  • Ricardo Garcia, Chief of Staff        

Office of Chief of Staff

Ricardo Garcia, Chief of Staff


  • Vacant, Center for External Relations, Director
  • Carolyn Bivens, System Coordination & Stakeholder Relations, Director
  • Vacant, Process Improvement, Manager

Center for External Relations

Vacant, Director


  • Rachael Hendrickson, Government Affairs, Director
  • Chris Van Deusen Media Relations, Manager
  • Jennifer Van Gilder, Communications, Director

Cross-Division Coordination

Carolyn Bivens, System Coordination & Stakeholder Relations, Director


  • Michelle Esquival, Audit Coordination, Team Lead

HHSC Liaison

  • Nicole Guerrero, HHS Internal Audit, Director 

Office of the Assistant Deputy Commissioner

Lara Lamprecht, DrPH, Assistant Deputy Commissioner


  • Courtney Denzendorf, MPH, Office of Academic Affairs, Director
  • Peter Hajmasy, Center for Health Policy and Performance, Director
  • Stephen Pont, MD, Office of Science & Population Health, Medical Director
  • Lisa Wyman, PhD, Center for Health Statistics, Director


Donna Sheppard, Chief Financial Officer


  • Christy Havel, Federal Funds, Deputy CFO
  • Leslie Aguilar, Accounting, Director
  • Amanda Hudson, Budget, Director

Program Operations

Roger Faske, Interim Associate Commissioner


  • Gabe Pina, Program Support Operations, Director
  • Paula Cook, Business Support & Planning, Director
  • Patty Melchior, Contract Management, Director
  • Ann Duncan, Fiscal Monitoring, Director
  • Vacant, Information Technology, Director

Laboratory and Infectious Disease Services

Imelda Garcia, MPH, Associate Commissioner


  • Monica Gamez, Deputy Associate Commissioner
  • Felipe Rocha, MSSW, TB/HIV/STD Section, Director
  • Grace Kubin, PhD, Laboratory Services Section, Director
  • Shawn Tupy, MT, MBA, Infectious Disease Prevention Section, Director 
  • Jennifer A. Shuford, MD, MPH, Infectious Disease Medical Officer 

Regional & Local Health Operations

David Gruber, Associate Commissioner


  • Nancy Ejuma, PhD, Deputy Associate Commissioner 
  • Jeff Hoogheem, Center for Health Emergency Preparedness and Response (CHEPR), Director
  • Jessica Gutierrez-Rodriguez, Texas Center for Infectious Disease, Director
  • RJ Dutton, PhD, Office of Border Public Health, Director
  • Vacant, Region 1, Regional Medical Director
  • Joel Massey, MD, MPH, Region 2/3, Regional Medical Director
  • Sharon Huff, MD, MS, Region 4/5, Regional Medical Director
  • Carlos Plasencia, MD, MS, Region 6/5, Regional Medical Director
  • Sharon Melville, MD, MPH, Region 7, Regional Medical Director
  • Lillian Ringsdorf, MD, MPH, Region 8, Regional Medical Director
  • Rachel Sonne, MD, MPH, Region 9/10, Regional Medical Director
  • Emilie Prot, DO, MPH Region 11, Regional Medical Director

Consumer Protection

Stephen Pahl, Associate Commissioner


  • Luis Morales, MBA, Deputy Associate Commissioner
  • Chris Drews, Compliance Manager
  • Charlotte Sullivan, EdD, Business Filing & Verification, Manager
  • Rod Moline, PhD, Policy, Standards & Quality Assurance, Director
  • James Dillon, DVM, MPH, Veterinarian, Meat Safety Assurance
  • Greg Wilburn, RN, Surveillance, Director
  • Jane Guerrero, RN, EMS/Trauma Systems, Director

Community Health Improvement

Manda Hall, MD, Associate Commissioner


  • Rachel Jew, Division Office Operations, Director
  • Vacant, CHI Medical Director
  • Nimisha Bhakta, Health Promotion & Chronic Disease Prevention, Director
  • Jeremy Triplett, Maternal & Child Health, Director
  • Heidi Bojes, PhD, Environmental Epidemiology & Disease Registries, Director
  • Tara Das, PhD, Vital Statistics Section, State Registrar 

Last updated June 3, 2020