What you should know about hyperthermia
Texas leads the nation in hot car deaths among children. The temperature in a car can rise almost 20° F within the first 10 min., so even outside temperatures in the 60s can cause temperatures to rise above 110° F in a car. Children’s bodies overheat easily; a child’s body temperature may rise 3 to 5 times faster than an adult’s body temperature.
What Texas law says
Leaving a Child in a Vehicle (PC 22.10):
A person commits an offense if he or she intentionally or knowingly leaves a child in a motor vehicle for longer than 5 minutes knowing that the child is:
1. Younger than 7 years of age and;
2. Not attended by an individual in the vehicle who is 14 years of age or older.
What you can do to prevent hyperthermia
(click on images below to view flyers)
Links to other hyperthermia flyers are included below:
Temperature Display Kit Application