
    

Animal Control Officer Basic Training Course Requirements and Procedures 
Texas Department of State Health Services, Zoonosis Control  

Effective 1-1-2023 
 

Mandated Animal Control Officer (ACO) Basic Training 
 
The following document pertains to entities outside of Texas Department of State Health Services 
(DSHS) Zoonosis Control (ZC) seeking to meet standards and curricula as prescribed by Texas 
Health and Safety Code (TH&SC), Chapter 829, Animal Control Officer Training, and by DSHS in this 
document for ACO basic courses.  It does not pertain to courses being conducted by DSHS ZC, as 
those are pre-approved through statute.   
 
To be in compliance with TH&SC, Chapter 829, Animal Control Officer Training,* a person may not 
perform the duties of an animal control officer unless 

 
(1)  the person: 

 
(A)  completes a basic animal control course under this chapter not later 

than the first anniversary of the date the person assumes animal control duties; or 
 
(B)  completed a personnel training course on or before June 30, 2008, 

under Section 823.004 as it existed on that date; and 
 
(2)  the person completes 30 hours of continuing education under this chapter 

during each three-year period following: 
 
(A)  the date the person completes the basic animal control course; or 
 
(B)  June 30, 2008, if the person completed a personnel training course 

under Subdivision (1)(B). 
 
This statute defines an animal control officer as a person who is employed, appointed, or 
otherwise engaged primarily to enforce laws relating to animal control; it does not include peace 
officers.  
 
Per TH&SC Section 829.003(c ), the course must be a minimum of 12 hours in length. 
 
To satisfactorily complete a DSHS-approved ACO basic course, the participant must attend all 
sessions of the entire course and pass both parts (General and Legal) of the test.   
 
 
 



    

Requirements for ACO Training Course Implementation 

 
According to Section 829.003, the training course curricula for the basic course must include the 
following topics: 

 
(1)  state laws governing animal control and protection and animal cruelty; 
 
(2)  animal health and disease recognition, control, and prevention; 
 
(3)  the humane care and treatment of animals; 
 
(4)  standards for care and control of animals in an animal shelter; 
 
(5)  standards and procedures for the transportation of animals; 
 
(6)  principles and procedures for capturing and handling stray domestic animals 

and wildlife, including principles and procedures to be followed with respect to an instrument 
used specifically for deterring the bite of an animal; 

  
(7)  first aid for injured animals; 
 
(8)  the documentation of animal cruelty evidence and courtroom procedures; 
 
(9)  animal shelter operations and administration; 
 
(10)  spaying and neutering, microchipping, and adoption; 
 
(11)  communications and public relations; and 
 
(12)  state and federal laws for possession of controlled substances and other 

medications; and 
 
(13)  any other topics pertinent to animal control and animal shelter personnel. 
   

Please note that it is the course sponsor’s responsibility to be aware of law amendments and 
ensure that, in presentations referencing a law(s), the most recent version of the law(s) is being 
presented.   Links to many of the laws pertinent to animal control can be accessed at 
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/idcu/health/zoonosis/laws/rules/ 
(all the Texas statutes are located at https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/ 
and all the Texas Administrative Codes are located at https://www.sos.texas.gov/tac/index.shtml). 

 
 
 

http://www.dshs.texas.gov/idcu/health/zoonosis/laws/rules/
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/
https://www.sos.texas.gov/tac/index.shtml


    

Basic training courses must cover all the mandated topics listed in TH&SC Section 829.003 and 
sponsors must adhere to standards and curricula presented in Chapter 829 and by DSHS in this 
document.  Prospective basic course sponsors not approved by DSHS prior to January 1, 2023, 
must also submit an application to DSHS for approval prior to conducting their first course.   
 
To satisfactorily complete a course, the participant must pass both parts of a test prepared by the 
sponsor; a certificate is not to be issued until the participant successfully completes the course, 
which includes passing the test and attending all sessions of the entire course.  If the participant 
does not pass the test, they must re-take the course and test.  It is the sponsor’s responsibility to 
retain attendance rosters and test results.**  Additionally, course sponsors need to inform 
participants that any participants who fail either part of the test will need to re-take a basic course 
to be eligible to re-test.  Do not allow students to grade their own tests or tests of other students. 
 
The required components of the test are: 

•    The test must consist of at least two parts: General [covers topics 2-11 in TH&SC Section 
829.003(a)] and Legal [covers topics 1, 8, and 12 in TH&SC Section 829.003(a)].  The DSHS 
Animal Control Officer Training Manual covers all the mandated topics and should serve as 
a reference for developing questions; however, sponsors may, if they so desire, include 
questions on local ordinances (in the Legal part of the test) and animal control issues (in 
the General part of the test) if relevant for their target population of students.  

•    The test questions need to be designed to demonstrate that the student has applicable 
knowledge of all the mandated course topics in TH&SC Section 829.003(a). 

• At least the following Texas state laws need to be covered in the Legal part of the test:  
TH&SC Chapters 821, 822, 823, 826, 828, 829, and Section 481.111; associated Texas 
Administrative Codes (TAC) for Chapters 821, 822, 826, and 828; and Penal Code Sections 
42.09, 42.092, 42.10. and 42.105.  Emphasis should be placed on questions pertaining to 
Chapter 826 (Rabies Control Act) and its associated TAC (Rabies Control and Eradication). 

• A closed-book format must be implemented during the test (i.e. no open books, no 
access to internet, no use of phones or computers,  etc.).  

•    Each part of the test (General and Legal) must have a minimum of 50 multiple choice 
questions. 

•    The student must achieve a minimum score of 70% on each part of the test (General and 
Legal) to pass the test.  

•    If the sponsor designs the test with the minimum 50 questions per part (General and 
Legal), at least 40 of the questions on each part need to be related to the numbered topics 
in the statute (refer to previous bullets) and, again, the student needs to score at least 70% 
on each part.  If the sponsor opts to add more questions, at least 80% of the questions on 
each part (General and Legal) need to relate to the listed topics in TH&SC, Section 
829.003(a), and the student still needs to score at least 70% on each part. 
 

The course sponsor should advise students prior to the course of the availability of the DSHS 
Animal Control Officer Training Manual and the importance of being familiar with and 
knowledgeable of its contents -   
https://www.dshs.state.tx.us/IDCU/health/zoonosis/education/training/aco/Manual.aspx 

https://www.dshs.state.tx.us/IDCU/health/zoonosis/education/training/aco/Manual.aspx


    

It is the basic course sponsors’ responsibility to provide certificates of completion to participants; 
the certificate must contain, at minimum:  the participant’s name; that it is an Animal Control 
Officer Basic Training; the length of the course in hours; a statement that the course sponsor was 
approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services; the course date and location 
(“virtual” or “online” may be substituted as applicable); and the sponsor’s name and contact 
information.  Failure to include the required information on a certificate of completion will result 
in the course sponsor issuing corrected certificates at their own expense.  If the test date is 
different from the course completion date, basic course certificates need to also include the date 
that the participant satisfactorily passed the test along with the following statement:  “The exam 
date will be used as the official course completion date for meeting training requirements per 
Chapter 829 of the Texas Health and Safety Code.”   It is the participants’ responsibility to retain 
the course certificate as proof of their training.   
 
If an approved course sponsor has a student who tests with another course sponsor, it is the 
responsibility of the sponsor that conducted the course to not issue a certificate of satisfactory 
completion until the course sponsor that conducted the test verifies that the student passed both 
parts of the test. 
 
If a participant who does not pass the test needs proof of attendance, a letter may be issued (since 
they cannot be issued a certificate) stating that the participant attended __ hours of ACO Basic 
Training but did not satisfactorily complete the exam. 
 
The ACO basic course is distinct from ACO CE courses; the basic course cannot be used to acquire 
CEs.   
 
Course sponsors must include the following statement in a legible format and visible location on 
course material:   
“If a participant wants to provide feedback on this course and/or its sponsor, the participant can 
mail comments to the Texas Department of State Health Services, Training Course Coordinator, 
Zoonosis Control, MC 1956, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas, 78714-9347 or email them to 
The.Vet@dshs.texas.gov.”  
 

Requirements for ACO Basic Training Course Instructors 
        
Prospective basic course sponsors not approved by DSHS prior to January 1, 2023, must provide 
DSHS with a document or brief bio(s) indicating each instructor’s relevant education, work, and 
training backgrounds, including dates.   Each instructor at a basic course must:  

1) have satisfactorily completed a DSHS or DSHS-approved ACO basic training course and have 
at least 2 years full-time experience in animal control, animal shelter, and/or humane 
society work; or 

2) have satisfactorily completed a DSHS ACO Advanced and/or Administrative training course 
prior to June 30, 2008; or 

3) be a licensed veterinarian; or 
4) be a bar-qualified lawyer; or 

mailto:The.Vet@dshs.state.tx.us


    

5) be a Licensed Veterinary Technician, Certified Veterinary Technician, Certified Veterinary 
Assistant, and/or have 3 years experience working as a veterinary technician; or  

6) have an associate or higher college degree in a science- or education-related field from an 
accredited institution of post-high school education; or 

7) have a college degree in teaching from an accredited institution of post-high school 
education and/or at least 3 years teaching experience for high school level or above; or  

8) be a licensed or certified instructor through the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement 
(TCOLE) (formerly the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and 
Education or TCLEOSE); or 

9) have at least 3 years full-time experience in law enforcement; or  
10) have at least 3 years full-time experience in animal control, animal shelter, and/or humane 

society work: or 
11) have at least 3 years experience in city, county, state, and/or federal public health work.  

 
Instructors subject to Ch. 829 who teach a CE course or provide a presentation at a basic course 
may apply that instruction time toward their Ch. 829 CE training requirement.  However, they may 
only apply a maximum of 15 CE hours per 3-year CE period through either of these means, 
separate or combined:   

 
- The topic must be different for each CE course taught for which they are applying toward CE 
credit per 3-year CE period.  This does not apply to presenting at basic courses.   

 
- For presentations at basic courses only, the same topic can be presented a maximum of 6 times 
per 3-year CE period for credit.  
 
                                                                      Virtual Courses 
 
Virtual ACO Basic Training Courses:  Course sponsors of virtual basic courses need to meet the 
requirements already described for in-person courses.  That includes being responsible 
for meeting all the course requirements per TH&SC, Ch. 829:   

• All topics listed in TH&SC Section 829.003(a) must be covered.   
• An instructor should be reasonably qualified to instruct on his/her assigned topic. 
• The course must be at least 12 hours in length per TH&SC Section 829.003(c ). 
• Attendance at all sessions of the course is required per TH&SC Section 829.003(b)(3).  

Therefore, verification and documentation of each participant’s attendance at every topic 
session must be possible.  A participant simply registering for a course or doing an initial 
check in does not suffice to meet this requirement.  The course sponsor must use a virtual 
program that allows them to visually and/or electronically monitor each participant’s 
actual attendance at each session.  In the application for course approval, the course 
sponsor needs to describe what process will be used to verify each participant’s 
attendance at every topic session. 

• Students must satisfactorily pass a test that meets the criteria previously described. 
   



    

Application for Approval of ACO Basic Training Course Sponsors and Curricula 
 
Prospective basic course sponsors not approved by DSHS prior to January 1, 2023, must submit 
an application to DSHS for approval prior to conducting their first course.  Application materials 
can be sent to The.Vet@dshs.texas.gov. 
 
To ensure a response from DSHS prior to conducting the course, course sponsors should apply for 
approval at least 8 weeks prior to the course date.  Sponsors must submit the duration (number of 
actual classroom hours not including time spent for lunch, breaks, or testing); a course 
agenda/outline; the name and credentials of the instructor(s); and a course contact name, email 
address, phone number, plus fax number, if available, to 

 
Texas Department of State Health Services 

Training Course Coordinator 
Zoonosis Control, MC 1956 

P.O. Box 149347 
Austin, Texas  78714-9347   

or 
The.Vet@dshs.texas.gov 

 
Within 6 weeks, DSHS will respond as to whether the course has been approved and/or to inform 
the sponsor of additional documentation or information that must be provided to DSHS in order to 
have the course approved.   
 
Once a sponsor has been approved, subsequent offerings of the identical course utilizing the same 
instructors may be given without requesting additional approvals.  However, pre-approval must 
be sought for changes in the length of the course or instructor(s).  If the length of the course 
changes, the sponsor must contact DSHS with the reason for this modification; if the instructor(s) 
changes, the sponsor must submit a bio(s) for approval.   
 
If a basic course sponsor wants a course posted at 
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/idcu/health/zoonosis/education/training/nonaco/ (which is part of the 
DSHS website), they must submit a written request and provide the following required information 
for posting on the internet:  date, type (basic), title, location, contact name, contact’s email 
address, and contact’s phone number.  To expedite posting, provide this information in the order 
presented here. 
 
Course sponsors who are interested in obtaining Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) 
credits for their participants should contact TCOLE at 512-936-7700.   
 

Training Waivers Issued by the Office of the Governor* 
 

Background:  On May 14, 2020, the Office of the Governor issued a waiver pertaining to the 
temporary suspension of Chapter 829 training requirements for animal control officers (ACOs) and 
a waiver pertaining to the temporary suspension of Chapter 821 (and associated Texas 

mailto:The.Vet@dshs.state.tx.us
mailto:The.Vet@dshs.texas.gov
http://www.dshs.texas.gov/idcu/health/zoonosis/education/training/nonaco/


    

Administrative Code) training requirements for euthanasia technicians as a result of the March 13, 
2020, coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) disaster declaration.  Extensions to these waivers were 
granted on August 10, 2020, and would be in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor 
or until the March 13, 2020, disaster declaration was lifted or expired. 
 
Update – below is the notice issued on July 19, 2021, pertaining to the withdrawal/termination 
of training waivers from the Office of the Governor: 

• Effective 12:01 AM on September 1, 2021 withdrawal of waivers (These are the animal 
control officer and euthanasia technician trainings) 

o 25 TAC § 169.84(g), extension approved on August 10, 2020 
o Texas Health and Safety Code § 821.055(a) and (d), extension approved on August 

10, 2020 
o Texas Health and Safety Code § 829.002(1)(A) and (2)(A), extension approved on 

August 10, 2020 
o Texas Health and Safety Code § 829.004(a) and (b), extension approved on August 

10, 2020 
 

* For information on temporary training policy modifications and suspensions/waivers due to 
COVID-19, go to  
https://dshs.texas.gov/IDCU/health/zoonosis/education/training/ACO.aspx  
https://dshs.texas.gov/IDCU/health/zoonosis/animal/control/shelters/Euthanasia.aspx 
https://dshs.texas.gov/IDCU/health/zoonosis/education/training/ACO-Courses-By-Outside-
Sources.aspx 
 
 
** The advised retention period for ACO basic and continuing education course exam results and 
attendance rosters is a minimum of 3 years beyond the end of the calendar year in which the 
course was given; the results can be retained either in hard copy or database format.   
           
Disclaimer:  During any disaster declaration, it is the responsibility of the course sponsor to 
determine if there are any applicable restrictions in place to which they must adhere, including 
those associated with an emergency declaration(s) or a local order condition(s). 
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