

Jennifer A. Shuford, M.D., M.P.H.

Commissioner

March 28, 2024

To People Interested in Epinephrine Auto-Injectors in Schools and Institutions of Higher Education:

The Stock Epinephrine Advisory Committee was created by <u>Texas Education</u> <u>Code</u>, <u>Section 38.202</u>, and examines and reviews the administration of epinephrine auto-injectors to a person experiencing an anaphylactic reaction, and the administration of medication for respiratory distress to a person experiencing respiratory distress on a campus of a school district, an open-enrollment charter school, a private school, or an institution of higher education. The committee is tasked with making recommendations to the commissioner of the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) on:

- The storage and maintenance of epinephrine auto-injectors and medication for respiratory distress on school campuses and campuses of institutions of higher education.
- The training of school personnel and school volunteers, and of personnel and volunteers at institutions of higher education, in the administration of an epinephrine auto-injector.
- The training of school personnel and school volunteers, and of personnel and volunteers at institutions of higher education, in the administration of a medication for respiratory distress.
- A plan for:
 - One or more school personnel members or school volunteers trained in the administration of an epinephrine auto-injector to be on each campus.
 - One or more school personnel members or school volunteers trained in the administration of medication for respiratory distress to be on each school campus.
 - One or more personnel members or volunteers of an institution of higher education trained in the administration of an epinephrine auto-injector to be on each campus of an institution of higher education.
 - One or more personnel members or volunteers of an institution of higher education trained in the administration of medication for respiratory distress to be on each campus of an institution of higher education.

DSHS is currently accepting applications for membership on the Stock Epinephrine Advisory Committee for the following positions:

- Physician with expertise in treating anaphylaxis and specialization in one of the following fields: Emergency Medical Services, pediatrics, allergies, asthma, or immunology. Seven positions, four with a 5-year term ending August 31, 2029, and three with a 3-year term ending August 31, 2027
- Registered Nurse employed in a school district in an urban or suburban area as a health services coordinator or school nurse, and possess additional training or education in emergency response, allergies, or allergic reactions. A four-year term ending August 31, 2028
- An employee from a public junior college or public technical institute (2-year institution). A four-year term ending August 31, 2028

The DSHS commissioner will appoint members to the committee to serve a term of four years, unless otherwise noted above. A committee member must participate in advisory committee meetings and may also have to participate in subcommittee meetings, projects, and presentations. Committee meetings will be held in Austin at least once annually or at the call of the presiding officer. Virtual attendance at advisory committee meetings is allowed. Committee members will receive reimbursement for travel expenses only, when funding allows.

If you would like to serve on the advisory committee, please complete the online application no later than **April 26, 2024.** To request a Microsoft Word version of the application, email Dianna Pierson at SchoolHealth@dshs.texas.gov.

DSHS will notify applicants by August 2024 if they have been selected to serve as a member of the Stock Epinephrine Advisory Committee.

In selecting members to serve on the committee, DSHS considers the applicants' qualifications, background, and interest in serving on the committee. DSHS also tries to choose committee members who, as a whole, represent the diversity of all Texans. For that reason, DSHS considers applicants' ethnicity, gender and geographic location.

For more information about the committee, <u>visit the committee website</u> or contact Dianna Pierson at SchoolHealth@dshs.texas.gov.