Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners Inactive Status-Reactivation of License

Loading...

 PLEASE NOTE: (Please refer to more detailed information below.)

  • A license on inactive status MUST BE RENEWED BIENNIALLY. The licensee must pay a $36 inactive status renewal fee in addition to submitting the renewal form (Form B).
  • A licensee, who wishes to put his/her active license on inactive status, must make a request in writing and pay a $36 conversion fee.
  • A licensee, who wishes to put his/her inactive license on active status, must make a request in writing and pay a $86 conversion fee.
Placing Licenses on Inactive Status/Reactivation of License

Rules regarding placing a license on inactive status are found at TAC § 781.505 .
§781.505. Inactive Status.

(a) A licensee who does not wish to practice social work in the State of Texas and whose license has not expired is eligible for inactive status. The request for inactive status may be made to the board at any time prior to the expiration of the license.

(b) No continuing education is required of a licensee while on inactive status.

(c) The inactive status fee and any applicable renewal fee and penalty fee for late renewal must be paid prior to the date the license expires.

(d) A licensee who has been granted inactive status must notify the board in writing to reactivate the license. The reactivated license status shall begin within seven days following receipt of verification of payment of the reactivation fee.

Placing a current license on inactive status

A person whose license is current may place the license on inactive status by submitting a signed request and payment of the inactive status conversion fee of $36.

A license “expires” at the end of the last day of the period for which it was issued. An expired license can be renewed by paying the applicable late fee TAC §781.217. A license “lapses” or becomes “no longer renewable” at the end of the day one year after the day the license expired. A lapsed license cannot be renewed or placed on inactive status. If a person whose licensed has lapsed wishes to be licensed, he/she must submit a new application and qualify for licensure under the current rules, including provisions regarding passing the national examination.

Placing an expired license on inactive status

A person whose active license is expired, but not lapsed (no longer renewable) must renew the license on active status by submitting a renewal form B and payment of the renewal and late fees. Once a license is active, then the licensee may place the license on inactive status by submitting a signed request and payment of the inactive status conversion fee.

Inactive Status

NOTE: A license on inactive status must be renewed or it will expire and eventually lapse.

A person whose license is inactive may not use the title “Social Worker,” or “Licensed Social Worker” or engage certain social work practicies. If a person who holds an inactive license plans to practice social work or use the title, he/she must reactivate the license before practicing (paid or volunteer).

Continuing education on inactive status and upon reactivation of a license

A person whose license is on inactive status is not required to complete continuing education in order to renew their license; however, if a person reactivates their license within six (6) months of the date that their license was placed on inactive status, the person will be required to demonstrate completion of the continuing education which was required at their last renewal (whether or not the renewal occurred before or after the license was placed on inactive status).

Reactivation of a license

A person whose license is on inactive status may reactivate the license by submitting a signed request and payment of the renewal fee for the license and endorsements. The license will be reactivated upon receipt of your original signed request, the correct fee, and documentation of completion of required continuing education, if applicable.

 

License Level Reactivation
Fee
Advanced Practice (LMSW-AP) Recognized for Independent Practice Supervisor Status
LCSW $106 N/A N/A Add $50
LMSW $86 Add $20 Add $20 Add $50
LBSW $86 N/A Add $20 Add $50


Continuing education required for renewal of a reactivated license

In order to renew a license which has been reactivated, the licensee must complete continuing education hours based on the number of months remaining on the license before it expires. Any part of a month is counted as a full month. It is the responsibility of the licensee renewing the license to determine the number and type of continuing education hours that are required based on the chart below.

The required number and types of hours based on the number of months remaining on the license before it expires are listed below:

 

Months Remaining On License Number Hours Ethics Total Number of Hours
0-2 0 0
3-6 3 8
7-12 3 15
13-24 6 30

 

 

  • Loading...
Last updated January 24, 2012
  • Loading...

    Board Logo

    Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners