TEHDI - Who Will Pay for My Baby’s Hearing Test?

Loading...

TEHDI logoMedicaid, the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), and most private health insurance plans cover the costs of the birth hearing screening and any resulting testing until the infant is 24 months of age.

Medicaid

  • Medicaid will pay for your newborn’s hearing screening test, any necessary follow-up tests, and evaluation by an audiologist if you and your child are eligible for medical assistance as determined by Texas state law.
  • For eligibility requirements and enrollment instructions about Medicaid, call the Texas Health and Human Services Commission Help Line at 1-800-252-8263.

Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

  • The newborn hearing screening test is a covered service through the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).
  • For eligibility and enrollment information about CHIP, call 2-1-1. When you call, pick a language, and then press 2.

Private Health Insurance Plan

  • Most private health insurance plans cover the costs of the birth hearing screening and any resulting testing until the infant is 24 months of age..
  • Any necessary follow-up may be subject to co-payment and co-insurance, but the newborn hearing screening test is exempt from a deductible or dollar limit.
  • For more information, please contact your health plan provider. You also may call the Texas Department of Insurance at 1-800-252-3439.
  • Loading...
Last updated November 19, 2015