• Loading...
    Contact Us

    Tobacco Prevention and Control Program
    DSHS Mental Health and Substance Abuse Division Mail Code 2081
    909 W. 45th St., Bldg. 552
    Austin, TX 78751

    Phone: (512) 776-3307
    Fax:


    Send an email

Tobacco Prevention and Control Regional Contacts

Loading...

DSHS Tobacco Prevention and Control provides nine local tobacco control coordinators throughout the state through the Regional Partnership Program. Tobacco control coordinators are responsible for conducting the following types of activities within their respective health service regions:

  • Community mobilization and training
  • Policy change activities
  • Counter-marketing/educational activities
  • Efforts targeted to diverse/special populations such as minorities, persons in rural areas, and youth in alternative settings
  • Cessation activities

Austin-Based Tobacco Prevention and Control Staff

Name Telephone Number Email
Penny Harmonson, Program Manager (512) 206-4794 Penny.Harmonson@dshs.state.tx.us
Barry Sharp, Program Coordinator (512) 206-5873 Barry.Sharp@dshs.state.tx.us
Steve Ross, Information Specialist (512) 206-5877 Steve.Ross@dshs.state.tx.us
Betty Boenisch, Program Specialist (512) 206-5254 Betty.Boenisch@dshs.state.tx.us
Philander Moore, Unit Manager (512) 458-7102 Philander.Moore@dshs.state.tx.us

Tobacco Education Specialists

Print-Friendly Roster of Tobacco Education Specialists (PDF) - Updated January 18, 2013

Regional Tobacco Prevention and Control Staff

Region Address Staff Member(s) Telephone Fax Email
1 P.O. Box 60968
300 Victory Drive
Canyon, Texas 79016
Sherri Scott, Regional Coordinator (806) 655-7151 (806) 655-7159 Sherri.Scott@dshs.state.tx.us
2/3 1301 South Bowen Road
Ste. 200
Arlington, Texas 76013
Vacant, Regional Coordinator (817) 264-4554 (817) 264-4654 -
P.J. Hunt, Public Health Tech (817) 264-4558 PJ.Hunt@dshs.state.tx.us
4/5N 1517 West Front Street
Tyler, Texas 75702
Lana Herriman, Regional Coordinator (903) 533-5225 (903) 535-7576 Lana.Herriman@dshs.state.tx.us
Dreka Strickland, Program Specialist (903) 533-5388 Dreka.Strickland@dshs.state.tx.us
Sonya Keeler, Administrative Assistant (903) 533-5393 Sonya.Keeler@dshs.state.tx.us
6/5S 5425 Polk
Ste. 460C
Houston, Texas 77023
Debbie Melecio, Regional Coordinator (713) 767-3030 (713) 767-3435 Debbie.Melecio@dshs.state.tx.us
7 2408 South 37th Street
Temple, Texas 76504
Vacant, Regional Coordinator (254) 778-6744 x 2350 (254) 778-6819 -
Norma Jones, Public Health Tech (254) 778-6744 x 2351 Norma.Jones@dshs.state.tx.us
8 7430 Louis Pasteur
San Antonio, Texas 78229
Rick Meza, Regional Coordinator (210) 949-2125 (210) 949-2084 Rick.Meza@dshs.state.tx.us
9/10 401 East Franklin
Ste. 210
El Paso, Texas 79901
Becky Zima, Regional Coordinator (915) 834-7775 (915) 834-7844 Rebecca.Zima@dshs.state.tx.us
Nadia Martinez, Public Health Tech (915) 834-7774 Nadia.Martinez@dshs.state.tx.us
11 601 West Sesame Drive
Harlingen, Texas 78550
Berta Cavazos, Regional Coordinator (956) 421-5580 (956) 444-3251 Berta.Cavazos@dshs.state.tx.us
Martha Gonzalez, Public Health Tech (956) 421-5577 Martha.Gonzalez@dshs.state.tx.us
Last updated January 18, 2013