There are three agencies responsible for regulating different aspects of NORM. The following is an attempt to clarify each agency's role, what regulations apply and whom to contact for more information or questions.
1. Texas Department of State Health Services, Radiation Control Program, Radiation Safety Licensing Branch
2. Railroad Commission of Texas
3. Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)
Applications process for Mobile NORM Decontamination of Equipment under DSHS, includes submission of:
Application [RC252-2] and business information [RC252-1] forms found at: www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/forms.shtm,
- Application fee for Mobile operations, limited to temporary job sites of $9,650.00 plus a $482.50 license surcharge for a total of $10,132.50 (Checks should be written to the Texas Department of State Health Services. For other options or combinations of uses, contact staff. Renewals will include a $20 Texas Online fee), and
- When applying for a mobile NORM decontamination license follow the “Guide for the Preparation of Radioactive Material License Applications”
- When applying for a fixed site NORM decontamination license follow the “BRANCH TECHNICAL POSITION for the Preparation of an Application for Processing of Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM) and/or Decontamination of Equipment, Facilities and Land Contaminated with NORM."
- Note that applicable statutes can be found at www.dshs.texas.gov/radiation/rules.shtm in Sections 289.259, 252, 202, 257, 201, 204, 203, and 205.
For Questions Contact the Following Individuals
(512) 834-6688 ext. 2628
NORM Compliance and Inspection
(512) 834-6688 ext. 2011